Mac Vs Win

Simliar Specs?
Actually depending what is your usage.

I don't understand why people wasting money for a MacPro book just to do office applications, download mp3, surfing internet....kinda waste of money.

Unless rich people dun say lah.. everything is peanut.

Just back from Sim Lim..... Acer laptop brand new $999.
Go and check it out.

:p :lovegrin: :p

hmm... yeah.. true... if just gonna do what u mentioned then maybe a macbook is an overkill lar... hehe... but if wanna do PS or some simple audio/video a macbook is quite a good deal lar....

anyway, i'm a sucker for brands... :p

Brand follower.
That is why SMEs should spend more money on their brand loyalty investment with the consumers.....

Unfortunately.....most local companies dun believe in brand building.

:( ;) :(

I've been using Mac since 1989, and have so far been very happy with it. While I'm not tat IT savvy, I find the Mac users of old had actually bought the machine to do real work.

Back in 1990, I had use it to do simple garphic design, page layout, scanning of photos and maniulating them in Photoshop (yes started with v1.0 back in Uni), slides presentation, word processing, spreadsheet, music writing, etc.

I never had games on my machine then, and till now, don't fancy playing games, which I think many of the PC users do and is one of the primary reasons why they purchase a Windows machine.

The Mac OSX has never crashed on me, as someone mentioned, applications sometimes do crash but not the OS.

In the old days when the Mac and its applications were expensive, it taught me to buy what I needed, not what I wanted, and that value had stayed with me thus far.

For the PC, it was indeed cheaper, and PC users would just go all out to soup their machine, but ended up not harnessing the full potential of their machine and system. To me then, they were non as the "Mostest": the fastest, biggest, latest...without actually knowing if they need them in the first place.

About the compatabiity problem betw system, I never had the problem working on a Mac, bring the work to office and work it on a PC, since 1995! Many of them who stil talk about this issue, had obviously not worked on a Mac before. A good example is my own wife. I've 3 working Macs at home, and till now she hadn't even touched on them, and yet still go on harping on how un-user friendly it is, and not compatible with Windows.

Talking abt user-friendliness, it is just about getting use to la. When I initially had to work on Windows based PC, I too, complained about how difficult to get use to, etc.

That said, Windows are definitely closing the gap betw Mac and PC now, and Apple doesn;t really have the big advantage anymore....

Haha, after all tat is said, I'm going out to get my son an iMac which can run both MacOS and Windows, since his Pri 1 work needs to be done online and the vendor only supports Windows, which his old iBook doesn't support. Now, hopefully, he can hep entice his mum to the Light Side....:p

Kenny

Well, just some thoughts about Mac vs Win thing. I think Apple made a good move to go Intel and introduce bootcamp, at least for me. :)

I'm currently a G4 Powerbook user and one gripe that I always had is that a lot of engineering programs and games are written for Windoze and not for Mac, and VirtualPC really cannot make it, so I kinda felt "handicapped" in some way, but that is a small sacrifice for me to make so that I can use a mac. :) But with the introduction of bootcamp, i'm really tempted to get the iMac so that I can catch up on the games I've missed out.... :p

So for those who have worries about Mac and Win compatibility, it's really quite a non-issue now. :) Go for it... hehehe

the next thing you know, windows can be installed in macs.:bsmilie: by then, i would use macs , cos i like their white outer design.

i think you need to go update yourself on the mac scene before you say more :bsmilie:

Well, just some thoughts about Mac vs Win thing. I think Apple made a good move to go Intel and introduce bootcamp, at least for me. :)

I'm currently a G4 Powerbook user and one gripe that I always had is that a lot of engineering programs and games are written for Windoze and not for Mac, and VirtualPC really cannot make it, so I kinda felt "handicapped" in some way, but that is a small sacrifice for me to make so that I can use a mac. :) But with the introduction of bootcamp, i'm really tempted to get the iMac so that I can catch up on the games I've missed out.... :p

So for those who have worries about Mac and Win compatibility, it's really quite a non-issue now. :) Go for it... hehehe

Running windows on mac hardware? You've lost the soul there.
And there is really no point comparing Mac and Windows anymore since it is not an apple to apple comparison.

Precisely.
Been a mac user for 7years.
I realised mac finder isn't that good as win explorer.

The other thing is the mighty mouse.....i dun find it mighty at all, the miserable nipple scrolling function.

Still sticking with my logitech mouse for mac.

:p :think: :p

actually lots of my frenz who have been using mac for many years dun like Finder and use other alternatives too :cool:

as for the mouse I am OK with it. ha ha.

.EXE, .DLL are all MS proprietary standard for the windoze platform.

There are a lot of applications that run dual platforms using Java Swing/AWT.

As for getting used to finder, you only use your Mac for leisure purposes, of course you won't get used to it. Next you're going to tell me your trackpad only has 1 mouse button.

yes, i hate the trackpad which has one button. so i dun use Mac notebook, I bought a Mac Pro tower instead and I like my Mighty Mouse , love the extra button :thumbsup:

That would mean I have a very hard time to "psycho" my dad to fund me. He apparently still think that Mac would not survive due to incompatibilites despite ALL the reports he read.

Lucky I am not a game addict. Else I might complain, but for norm usage, mac rule more to me =)

That would mean I have a very hard time to "psycho" my dad to fund me. He apparently still think that Mac would not survive due to incompatibilites despite ALL the reports he read.

Lucky I am not a game addict. Else I might complain, but for norm usage, mac rule more to me =)
I use it flawless outdoors, in my office network, client's network and I don't seem to have a problem surviving with it although all the networks I'm connecting to are probably running windoze network/services ;p

i'm currently using a macbook pro, it crashes more often than my 5year-old discontinued pc does. and today camerawindow (eos canon software for importing pictures and remote shooting) refused to work. apprently it happens with all intel macs.

*but it's just what's happening for me. -shrugs- you may use it for different purposes and it'll probably not affect you.

i'm currently using a macbook pro, it crashes more often than my 5yo discontinued pc does. and today camerawindow (eos canon software for importing pictures and remote shooting) refused to work. apprently it happens with all intel macs.

so....

buy a new PC with Vista then :thumbsup:

i'm currently using a macbook pro, it crashes more often than my 5yo discontinued pc does. and today camerawindow (eos canon software for importing pictures and remote shooting) refused to work. apprently it happens with all intel macs.

*but it's just what's happening for me. -shrugs- you may use it for different purposes and it'll probably not affect you.
Doubt the files are universal binaries to begin with, so you might need to wait for an updated version.

When you finally graduate and go to work, 99.9% of companies do not use Mac. Bottom line is: Get a Mac for fun and leisure. For serious work/business, get Windows.

Spare your dad. It is not easy to earn money. Go for the cheaper windows laptop.

yes, i hate the trackpad which has one button. so i dun use Mac notebook, I bought a Mac Pro tower instead and I like my Mighty Mouse , love the extra button :thumbsup:
You know if you put two fingers on the touchpad and click, it would be the equivalent of the right click. i find this a lot more intuitive. :)

I tried, it doesn't work leh :cry:

let say i already highlighted an icon. then i click the touchpad's button or click the touchpad itself?