Zaren - A Photo A Day

25th January
55258681.jpg

the master strikes again :bsmilie:

is this the same motorbike as your earlier pic?

great colours and use of space!

knoxknocks said:
the master strikes again :bsmilie:

is this the same motorbike as your earlier pic?

great colours and use of space!

thx KK....this is another motorbike, parked against the old rex theatre, hence the orange wall. :bsmilie:

hi zaren

besides the really minimalistic,(i nearly put simplistic,but then i wont call yours as simplistic) and creative concepts, i always admire you for the way you bring out the colours. makes me wanna improve on mine. (amongst many other technicalities that i have to improve :embrass: )

needless to say.. this is :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

I agree with nicZnap, zaren. The colours in your photos are stunning, your ideas refreshing! Even when u take a similar shot like the motorbike mirror, it looks refreshingly different ... Well done! :thumbsup:

AngelZhou said:
NICE NICE NICE NICE NICE! lol I also first glance thot it's a human skin ( cognitive theory? )
Whatever it is, i like it =p

mmm surrealism ah... me cannot confirm hor, try to ask stereobox. We still not agree on what surrealism is T____T my idea of surrealism only 'something beyond realism' and I think he has a bigger picture about it. I'm not really into it so not really sure ( perhaps his idea more appriorate since he actually studied about it and I just have a glance of it )
*now that few people can imagine, how boring dating AngelZhou could be if she keep on nitpick whenever you start to talk about art or psychology - not to forget the usual school-is-suck speech*

I think Zaren is cute in some way. I mean... the way you interpret everything. So Zaren. ( I know sounds wrong lah but I couldnt find a better way to put it )

to keep a long and tedious discussion short....( :bsmilie: )

To my understanding, Surrealism embraces the notion that reality exists in both the 'conscious' and 'subconscious' mind. that the 'conscious' mind is bound by conventional thought, pre-conditioned rules, a tedious exercise in trying to grasp 'reality' through 'rational' reasoning. and that the 'subconscious' mind is uninhibited and 'pure', unadulterated with so-called human logic..and somehow perhaps there are deeper and greater truths & answers which is shielded by our 'consciousness' (mm..i dont know if 'truth' n 'answer' are the right terms to use). some Surrealists believe we can understand the human condition better by acknowledging the 'messages' the subconscious is trying to tell us, some believe 'true' creativity can be unleashed by tapping into the subconscious, and so on.

there are two main 'camps' in which Surrealists believe this 'subconscious' can be expressed - the Automatists and the Veristic Surrealists. i can't go into detail the differences (info can be easily found, and somehow i will get it wrong somewhere). and why some 'surrealistic' visual art look so much 'dreamlike' is because the Surrealists believe dreams to be an important 'clue' in what the subconscious is trying to tell us. by revealing and expressing 'freely' the dreams (automatists and veristic surrealists have their own ways and opinion) from the 'inner' world, by attempting to 'decode' it, perhaps there are stuff which gives us a better understanding of the 'real', outer world.

in other words, (to my understanding), Surrealists believe reality exists both in 'inner' and 'outer' world. one cannot exists without the other. to dismiss one or the other is akin to deliberate ignorance, ignoring the human existence. true 'reality' exists when the two worlds work hand in hand ... what they call, a 'Surreality'.

sadly to say, the word 'Surreal' has been assimilated so much into popular culture that the meaning is somewhat distorted and diluted. just like how 'abstraction' has come to be a convenient word to tag, so has 'surreal'. but..honestly, i got no beef with that :bsmilie: i use words wrongly all the time haha!

Zaren u got two motorbikes! lolx

Ya how do you bring out the colours.
really very vibrant.

btw do you use raw or jpeg..

zaren said:
25th January
55258681.jpg

Zaren.. i love the saturated colors!!! The use of space+simple subject is absolutely amazing. The color tones are FABULOUS!!! ahhhhhhhhh :lovegrin:

nice color! :thumbsup:

Stereobox said:
to keep a long and tedious discussion short....( :bsmilie: )

To my understanding, Surrealism embraces the notion that reality exists in both the 'conscious' and 'subconscious' mind. that the 'conscious' mind is bound by conventional thought, pre-conditioned rules, a tedious exercise in trying to grasp 'reality' through 'rational' reasoning. and that the 'subconscious' mind is uninhibited and 'pure', unadulterated with so-called human logic..and somehow perhaps there are deeper and greater truths & answers which is shielded by our 'consciousness' (mm..i dont know if 'truth' n 'answer' are the right terms to use). some Surrealists believe we can understand the human condition better by acknowledging the 'messages' the subconscious is trying to tell us, some believe 'true' creativity can be unleashed by tapping into the subconscious, and so on.

there are two main 'camps' in which Surrealists believe this 'subconscious' can be expressed - the Automatists and the Veristic Surrealists. i can't go into detail the differences (info can be easily found, and somehow i will get it wrong somewhere). and why some 'surrealistic' visual art look so much 'dreamlike' is because the Surrealists believe dreams to be an important 'clue' in what the subconscious is trying to tell us. by revealing and expressing 'freely' the dreams (automatists and veristic surrealists have their own ways and opinion) from the 'inner' world, by attempting to 'decode' it, perhaps there are stuff which gives us a better understanding of the 'real', outer world.

in other words, (to my understanding), Surrealists believe reality exists both in 'inner' and 'outer' world. one cannot exists without the other. to dismiss one or the other is akin to deliberate ignorance, ignoring the human existence. true 'reality' exists when the two worlds work hand in hand ... what they call, a 'Surreality'.

sadly to say, the word 'Surreal' has been assimilated so much into popular culture that the meaning is somewhat distorted and diluted. just like how 'abstraction' has come to be a convenient word to tag, so has 'surreal'. but..honestly, i got no beef with that :bsmilie: i use words wrongly all the time haha!
Kaoz! So profound... enlightening, nonetheless. Thanks for sharing. Pretty much enjoyed your sharing here as well as under your APAD thread. Cheers!

zaren said:
25th January
55258681.jpg
I see that you're very fond of mirror shots. Nice, inspiring pictures! :thumbsup: Sadly, I'm always quite "blank" when I go out to shoot. Sigh...

thx zhang3feng, nicZnap, wiz23, Sbox, Rheo, ParkertR, choo, hyperFocal :)

i shoot in jpeg and use irfanview to post process the shot (you can get the same results by PP in PS). this is the unedited pic;
55293048.jpg

colors are flat and lack punch.

in irfanview, i applied a gamma correction of 0.57 and an increase in contrast to 83, to get the deeper and richer colours in the final pic.

:cool:

26th january
55292925.jpg

zaren said:
26th january
55292925.jpg

since when i become Sbox liao...sounds like Microsoft's latest gaming console :bsmilie: but it does sound catchier than StereoB

hey, niccceeeee capture zaren!! symmetry in motion :bsmilie:

zaren said:
thx for the comments AngelZhou, Stereobox, lil p ,knoxknocks & choo! wow....shooting a pic a day is much tougher than i thought! :bsmilie:

3rd January 2006
A newly constructed condo takes shape in the side mirror of a motorcycle parked outside my office.
54348232.jpg
i love the colours in this.

Stereobox said:
since when i become Sbox liao...sounds like Microsoft's latest gaming console :bsmilie: but it does sound catchier than StereoB

hey, niccceeeee capture zaren!! symmetry in motion :bsmilie:

thx....this pic is dedicated to our lovey dovey pair: AngelZhou and StereoBox! ;p