Yet another "first DSLR" thread...

Status
Not open for further replies.

ashrain

Nov 27, 2008
Hello everyone, i'm a newbie here! I know there are countless threads on this but i've read those and narrowed down my choices, and hope to get some firm advice from you all as to what exact model i should buy. Sitex ends very soon and i will most probably get it there.

-Nikon D60 (1288 with 18-55 and 55-200)
-Canon 1000D (1099 with 18-55)
-Canon 450D (1299 with 18-55)
-Nikon D90????? (at least 1788)

Fixed prices above and i hear cathay is a good alternative in case the freebies don't entice me enough :p

What i'll need in a camera:
-good low light performance
-more fps
-wide angle
-image stabilizer (i understand only sony has this though...)

I take mainly travel photographs and price, weight, build etc are not issues, although i'm aiming not to spend more than 2k on a first dslr. Went down to sitex on friday to take a look since many advise newbies to buy a camera that is comfy to grip and shoot with. felt all were okay. The dual lens packages from nikon are very tempting but i wonder if i'll even need two as a beginner. And nikon loses out on AF points (D60). The canon salesperson strongly recommended the 1000D, but i'm thinking if i should get something higher than entry level so i won't have to upgrade so soon. A pro friend recommended me to start out with nikon (he uses canon and has stuck to it because he started out with canon). Please advise and thank you in advance! Greatly appreciate any help and i hope not to offend anyone because i really hate seeing people fight in forums.

What i'll need in a camera:
-image stabilizer (i understand only sony has this though...)

Don't forget Pentax and Olympus