which macro lens for canon s1is?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delek

Dec 20, 2002
Visit site
hi guys

i am a noob who just got hold of the canon s1is

i am very interested in macro shots but i can't get a good DOF with my default setup

what are the lens i need to buy ??

of cos the cheaper the better :D

thanks in advance!

Delek said:
hi guys

i am a noob who just got hold of the canon s1is

i am very interested in macro shots but i can't get a good DOF with my default setup
Digital camera has the best DOF ( everything sharp ). Maybe you have problem to get the magnification like 1:1.

Delek said:
what are the lens i need to buy ??

of cos the cheaper the better :D

thanks in advance!
You can try Closeup filter like 58mm HOYA Closeup +4 cost abt $30+- . Set your focal length to max, turn off the macro mode and focus at 1 feet to 1.5 feet.

thanks for your advise

but what about shutter speed

for eg : if the insect is moving , if i set shutter speed low the focus insect will be blur right?

so should i set hi shutter speed ? for moving objects?

Delek said:
but what about shutter speed

for eg : if the insect is moving , if i set shutter speed low the focus insect will be blur right?

so should i set hi shutter speed ? for moving objects?

shutter speed is depend on your focal length. Usually for me like 370mm (10x zoom) , try not to take slower than 1/160 sec with IS on

as for moving object :sweat: , try speed like 1/500sec or faster OR above speed if the object is hovering ..

Thanks for your tips man!

will try it out and post my results here~!!!

I have a S1 IS and have been trying to shoot good macros with it (so far with very moderate success ;) ). I experimented with a +4 Hoya filter for the first time. here are two samples. Both sub-centimeter subjects, AV mode, F8, no flash, full 10x zoom. First one with tripod, second handheld
Grass.jpg

----
ant%20queen.jpg

wow