Which Hassy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kernel

Sep 23, 2004
Singapore
I am thinking of getting a second hand hassy but I am new to it. I need plenty of advice from experts here.

I am attracted to hassy because of the available lens out there and also hassy's built quality. But is it suitable for field work? I heard that the mirror slapping is quite bad and may be difficult to use, esp. in low light situation.

I am considering 501C or 501CM. What's the diff between them? And can they take the same lens?

Many thanks!

501C and 501CM uses the same mount so can share lens... 501C screen is pretty bright and easily interchange with just a clip.

i got one for sale at a superb price

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=202342

can meet to test till you 100% satisfied... :)

if i'm not mistaken the c/m has the accu-matte screen which is really bright and contrasty and makes focussing a lot easier. Do consider the older 500 series as well if u are on a budget. The best for me so far would be the 503cw or cxi. But they cost a bomb.

Don't expect to use the hassy too much in low light. i think the max aperture they offer is f2.8. The mirror slap is also harder than any slr and u'll probably want to use a tripod or monopod for under 1/60s exposures. Mirror lockup helps but not for critical framing.

Thanks for the info so far. They do offer some help. I am doing my research on the net now...

u may like to know that buy the best Hassy set that your budget can allow u.

The reasons being the following:

1. The older bodies have more or less have no part or parts are getting more difficult to find if anything goes wrong and need some fix up. I wouldn't advise u to buy the 500 bodies or the C series lenses. Even some of the CF lenses have ran out of parts at Hasselblad which I was made known by Hassy themselves some time back.