what lens to get?

Status
Not open for further replies.

coldman

May 12, 2004
my house
Hi Expert,

a poor :cry: newbie here need help on the lens to get if i decided to change to a DSLR. :sweat:
currently using a 35-420mm FZ10. (auto focus too slow for celebrity taking)

me like to take photo of celebrity, fashion show, micro, paranomal, and beautiful girls.

for celebrity, i will be standing with the public and it's quite a distance from the stage. :embrass: me very poor judge of distance. will a 70-300mm be able to get me close up (face + neck) shot of them?

:embrass: so, will the following configuration work for me?
mostly will only be rich enough to get 3rd party lens. :cry:

-Canon or Nikon DSLR,
-28-70mm + filter,
-70-300mm + filter,
-external flash.

any suggestion will be helpful.

Thanks in advance.

Rgds,
coldman.

espn said:
D70 + 70-200vr ;)
enough meh??? I thought overshot 4K already? keke :D

Personally I am getting the following:

D70 without Kit lens,
Tokina 28-70 f2.8 PROII
Nikkor 80-200 ED (2 touch)
Will get the Bidma 50-500mm in future...

coldman said:
:embrass: now got around $4k only. :cry: :cry:
Wah! You find this amount low?......I started with a 150 dollar camera man!....Can't you move closer? if you use a long lens, problems like vibration may become very disturbing......try to move as close as you can or allowed to, be a bit pushy lah! Explain that pics are important etc....for indoor you may need tripod with long lenses......perspective more natural from far away, thats true....

Hong Sien

but if i were to shot celebrity or fashion show, i will be standing with the public and it's quite a distance from the stage. can't get closer, got barrier to block access. :cry:

sometimes i need the 'head to neck' shot.
200mm can reach meh? :think:

Sorry har, me very poor in judging distance. :cry: