Stitching software

Status
Not open for further replies.

ilearn

Sep 9, 2008
Can someone advice me on stitching photos?

Are the free softwares available online sufficient?
Or is it generally better to get a dedicated software for it?
My quick search led me to some general conclusions
-e.g. canon provides its own photostitch software
-photoshop elements
-ptgui/autopano

Can someone recommend me a good software for stitching photos and preferably HDR as well?
Oh and I'm using a mac

Thx

Autopan attempts to correct some exposure incongruities in the various shots, although limited, can be a life saver.

Adobe Photoshop itself can do stitching, Adobe CS3 has much more accurate stitching than the earlier versions. I have no plans to buy CS4 though, but i suppose it would be even more accurate.

PTGui is a free but powerful software that has a Mac version as well.
Personally I have no experience with it but there are many people here that swears by it.

Here are some little thoughts on stitching which i send to a friend on CS recently ( which is far from complete ) :

Always try to take individual shots with the same setting, and by which i mean white balance, preferably ( especially wide angle lenses ) no polarisers etc, to achieve same exposure for the various frames of the panorama. Wierd exposures stick out of the panorama like a sore. If you are going to employ a GND, especially the higher and hard stop ones please use a holder to get the placement consistent.

- if you are using a telephoto lens i recommend about 20-30% overlap. The distortion per shot is much less with telephotos, and dedistortion is minimal during stitching.