knoxknocks

Sep 19, 2004
lalaland
www.tinydotphotography.com
Taken at a restaurant while having dinner - handheld and in ambient light

does it work?

flower.jpg

Thanks for viewing :)

poohbear and HotSpots were telling me how the colours pop out of your pictures, now i know what they mean, very nice :thumbsup: why not a landscape version with the subject at the right side and include the full length of the shadow? if not the stalk behind looks wierd (it's got a nice shadow that leads to the pot though)

eikin said:
poohbear and HotSpots were telling me how the colours pop out of your pictures, now i know what they mean, very nice :thumbsup: why not a landscape version with the subject at the right side and include the full length of the shadow? if not the stalk behind looks wierd (it's got a nice shadow that leads to the pot though)

you online 24 hours a day one ah? :bsmilie:

You are absolutely right. It should've been a landscape. As ortega says, don't cut off the shadow :)

Thanks!

knoxknocks said:
you online 24 hours a day one ah? :bsmilie:

You are absolutely right. It should've been a landscape. As ortega says, don't cut off the shadow :)

Thanks!

doing interim presentation lah, so PC always on

actually portrait works for me, just move the frame to the left just a tad and slightly more breathing space on the top.

My comment on the shadow is only general, does not always work,
But mostly it works.

Nice colours, but it seems that the forground petals are OOF.
Not enough DOF?

ortega said:
actually portrait works for me, just move the frame to the left just a tad and slightly more breathing space on the top.

My comment on the shadow is only general, does not always work,
But mostly it works.

Nice colours, but it seems that the forground petals are OOF.
Not enough DOF?

now that you mentioned it, stalk seems a bit too tight on the top.

tried to have more space on the left, but a lot of fork and spoons :(

f1.8 cos very low light that's why DOF very shallow. Focus on centre of flower, so other areas likely to be OOF.

Anyway, thanks for the advice. will try harder next time :)

reduce the shutter speed lor, then can gain 1 fstop.

Can reshoot next time, remember to bring table top mini tripod.

ortega said:
reduce the shutter speed lor, then can gain 1 fstop.

Can reshoot next time, remember to bring table top mini tripod.

after that people think i siao...carry tripod in a restaurant (quite high class one leh) and place on table top some more :bsmilie:

knoxknocks said:
after that people think i siao...carry tripod in a restaurant (quite high class one leh) and place on table top some more :bsmilie:

wah lau, you don't know what i am talking about.

look at this, I have one, lent to eikin for his trip for use with his F80
So it is strong enough. Maybe not for your cam.

http://www.thkphoto.com/products/slik/slik-cts-03.html

BTW

"Worry not what you look like, worry what your picture will look like."