purchasing Canon AE-1

bmonkabby

Feb 24, 2010
Firstly,
i really dont know which section to post this.

I am new to film cameras and is looking forward to start with it.
i am considering to purchase a film camera and seems like
the Canon AE-1 program is a good buy.
But i have a couple of questions in mind and i hope that anyone can
help me clear my doubts.

1) is it wiser to get a mechanical or a electronic film camera? i believe that the canon AE-1 needs battery to work, and i heard that, for electronic, the chances of failing is higher due to the circuit board and stuffs.

2) Any tips on how can i check the camera before i purchase it?

3) Any introductions of any other film cameras that i might be able to get with a budget of around $350? :)

Thanks!

I am not familiar with Canon AE-1.

Its a mixed bag of considerations.
Mechanical cameras might be a bit longer lasting w/o the electronics, but they lack creature comforts. (Eg. no auto winding; more importantly - no metering)
In fact most SLRs will require a battery of some sort as they usually have a meter. Make sure the model you are getting is not using an extinct/rare battery type.

More modern electronic SLRs have all the creature comforts and convenience like a DSLR. In fact the main diff is the sensor is now the film and there is no review LCD at the back.

Either type can be a joy to use depending on how you like a slower or a more convenient approach.

As I'm mainly familiar with Pentax cameras, here are a few to consider
K1000 - an all metal robust camera popular to this day with photography students. The updated version of the famous Pentax Spotmatic.
KX - not to be confused with the DSLR version. A really nice camera. Robust build, metering, DOF preview.
ME super - This is a really nice elegant camera. As small as a FED2 (leica copy) rangefinder.