Portrait Lens

Status
Not open for further replies.

pommie

Jan 2, 2007
I'm a newbie who spends most of the time taking portrait pics of the family both indoors and outdoors.

My camera is a D80 with a 18 - 135mm lens

I was considering getting a prime lens for low light indoor photos and was hoping to get some advise.

I knwo the Sigma 30mm F1.4 EX DC HSM is a good lens but I feel it may be an over kill for a newbie?

Alternatives could be a 2nd hand Nikon 50mm F2.0?

Do you think a newbie will be able to tell the diff between an F1.4, 1.8 and 2.0?
Should I just go with a cheap 2nd hand lens 1st?

Also I saw a thread saying that 50mm prime lenses are the most common, but with the crop factor a 30mm lens becomes nearly 50mm, so why arent people buying these?

What would you recommend?

Thanks

One test - stick your 18-135mm in 30mm and dont touch the zoom lens further. Go around and take your indoor family shots at the distances you normally shoot at. Use AP mode, and open up the aperture, pump up the ISO if necessary to get the proper shutter speeds. If you notice, u prob can take half body shots or maybe full body shots if you have a big enough house. Of course you can go closer but observe the reaction from your family members closely when you do so. Also, look at how certain features like the nose might get a bit distorted.

Move on to 50mm and try it out again. You will probably find that you can do head and shoulders or even face only shots.

Which shots do you like better? Once you have tried these out, nothing to stop you from getting a 50mm f1.8 (cheap and good choice) or a 35mm f2. 50mm f2 could be a manual lens. If you find that you are shooting too close at 50mm, try a 85mm f1.8. The difference between f1.8 and f1.4 is half a fstop i think but the price difference is pretty great. Most pp will swear the bokeh (background blur) from the f1.4 is much better than the f1.8, you can check out the numerous comparisons on Pbase and other sites.