!!! Our Pictures LEECHED !!!

I support the idea of having private forums as if this problem still persists, very few people will want to post their pictures especially those favoured by SGgirls. Either that the photo will have to be watermarked aggressively so that the leecher will think twice about posting the photo. ;(

Like you guys said, have a special forum to post pics...
BUT I would suggest on top of that, that those who want to VIEW and POST pictures, have to pay some subscription fee?

So at least if those leechers wanna leech, they still gotta pay some $.

If they leech, admin ban them and remove their privillege.

Just a thought.

Originally posted by ninelives
you can send an email to the site owner and ask them to remove the picture.

i dun think their admin will be very willing to take them down because it is like breaking their rice bowl.....they need to survive with these pic mah..

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthre...&threadid=30914

After 3 mths, Kindred's pic still not taken down

http://www.sggirls.com/?action=phot...&photo_id=22946

even after he has emailed their admin

at least photoforum will really remove the pic immediately

anyway, tell them to remove the pic one by one is not the best solution, the problem lies in the nature of their site and their members, i dun surf those site and i dun think any of us here is so free to monitor them everyday also, someone repost the pic in hardwarezone and that's how i notice this...

Copyright protection is automatic and not subject to any formalities. If any one, without the authority of the copyright owner, does one of the things for which the copyright owner has the exclusive right to do, there is a direct infringement. It is important to note that, for a direct infringement to occur, neither intention to infringe nor knowledge that the acts alleged constitute infringement is necessary. However, a direct infringement attracts only a civil liability. The onus of proving copyright infringement is on the person who claims copyright and an independent creation, even if it is identical, is not an infringement.

In addition, it is also a violation of copyright if any one sells, lets for hire, by way of trade offers or exposes for sale or hire, imports for the purposes of sale or trade, any infringing articles which he knows or ought reasonably to know that the making of the article constituted an infringement of the copyright. Such a violation attracts both civil and criminal liability in Singapore.

It is also an offence for any one to have in his possession, any articles which he knows or ought reasonably to know to be infringing copies of a work for the purpose of selling, letting for hire or distribution in trade. In this connection, there is a presumption that the possession is for the purposes of sale if the person is found to have 5 or more infringing copies of any work.

The civil remedies for the copyright owner include injunctions, damages or account of profits and delivery up of infringing copies. Where it is appropriate to do so, such as where the flagrancy of the infringement was shown, the court may also order any appropriate punitive damages.

Criminal proceedings may be instituted by the State or by the copyright owners who are authorised by the State to do so. This ensures that there is sufficient flexibility in the enforcement of rights. Criminal penalties for infringement by selling, letting for hire or exhibiting in public are:

• a S$10,000 fine per infringing copy, up to a total of S$100,000, and/or
  • imprisonment up to 5 years.

SINGAPORE COPYRIGHT ACT (CHAPTER 63)

What is a copyright?

But do u think the admin at SGGirls care about the Copyrights?...:dunno: Seems like they don't really care... whether is legal or illegal.

well with the many indecent pictures shown in sggirls.com, I don't think they care much abt the law lor

a very brave website I must say :bsmilie:

Originally posted by sehsuan
sfhuang, good suggestion. darren, maybe like those folks who have been seed regulars or have turned up for CS events are "qualified" to enter?

right~~~ that means keeping guys like me out.

i'm not a SEED regular because i'm usually not free on Wed nite and i dont go for CS events because i like to shoot alone.

Originally posted by andretan
Like you guys said, have a special forum to post pics...
BUT I would suggest on top of that, that those who want to VIEW and POST pictures, have to pay some subscription fee?

it won't work. this solution defeats the purpose. why would someone pay to post his work on a forum?

Originally posted by mervlam
right~~~ that means keeping guys like me out.

i'm not a SEED regular because i'm usually not free on Wed nite and i dont go for CS events because i like to shoot alone.

or go by post count? but this will discriminate those who seldom post or new members :dunno:

nobody ever said there is an easy solution to this problem.

Hi There.....

Lets respect the GIRLS of Singapore and not take their photos and post it in CS forum.

As this seem to be an ongoing problem.....

Unfortunately lately there seem to be a growing number of activites and events here which "brought forward" sexily dressed ladies which (i'm just being frank here)....is aimed at i believe....luring people to those events. What's there on earth has a Miss "Whatsoever" got to do with the products or things on exhibit.

And its normal for photogrphers who are keen in Portraiture to take opportunities to capture portrait shots of these beauties. Yes !!!....there is no permission needed as these "innocent" models are just there to be looked at and photograph.

Leechers are all over on the net to steal photographs etc.....In some extreme cases even used digital imaging techniques to manipulate to other imaginable state for other use.

SO MY CALL TO EVERY ONE IN CS......LETS NOT POST PHOTOS OF PEOPLE (Looks like those normally leeched are girls photos)....ESPECIALLY GIRLS......so as to respect them and maintain their value and respect.

Imagine if these girls are your Girlfriend....Daughters.....Sisters.....Mothers....etc...

So lets hand in hand prevent leeching .......

regards,
SULHAN

Just came back... yes, I agree a private forum is the best. how else can we comment or give tips to better photography?? In any case, according to souces, apparently the owner of Jeyel Tech which owns sggirls and other such sites is Jason Ling. Stays in a private house in the south western part of singapore. S$10,000 fine sounds like an interesting proposition. Plus the 5 years jail term... :devil:

Lets see now....
2 x kindred's shot
1 x buzz's shot
1 x sehsuan's shot
2 x zplus's shot
Total: S$60,000!!!
Jail term: 5 years x 6 = 30 years jail term!!!

Originally posted by sulhan
Hi There.....

Lets respect the GIRLS of Singapore and not take their photos and post it in CS forum.

Unfortunately lately there seem to be a growing number of activites and events here which "brought forward" sexily dressed ladies which (i'm just being frank here)....is aimed at i believe....luring people to those events. What's there on earth has a Miss "Whatsoever" got to do with the products or things on exhibit.

And its normal for photogrphers who are keen in Portraiture to take opportunities to capture portrait shots of these beauties. Yes !!!....there is no permission needed as these "innocent" models are just there to be looked at and photograph.

Leechers are all over on the net to steal photographs etc.....In some extreme cases even used digital imaging techniques to manipulate to other imaginable state for other use.

SO MY CALL TO EVERY ONE IN CS......LETS NOT POST PHOTOS OF PEOPLE (Looks like those normally leeched are girls photos)....ESPECIALLY GIRLS......so as to respect them and maintain their value and respect.

Imagine if these girls are your Girlfriend....Daughters.....Sisters.....Mothers....etc...

regards,
SULHAN

Finally.... ! :gbounce:

with the growing increase of hp with build in camera and small + cheap digicam, taking spy shots is eaiser than leeching pic from CS

this is another concern, even if they don't leech from CS, they will just user their own digicam to take pic, what if next time you see pic of your Girlfriend....Daughters.....Sisters.....Mothers....etc... posted together with some other pictures of girls in swimsuits?

these site deserved to be closed to deter pple from taking such pic, if not next time when u want to do street shooting you will be mistaken as spying

Hi There.....

regards,
SULHAN

Well Said !! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

i think sggirls.com have problems with their admin....3 mths liao my pic still there....:rolleyes: :(

I just spoke to the Admin of sggirls.com, his name is Jason.

According to him, he just took the pics down, which weren't brought to his attention until i msged him. He's more than willing to take such pics down, but urges you that it is not within his control WHO posts these pics up, and when. It's like if i post pornography on this site, of course it will be taken down, but the admin here can't stop me right? of course the matter here is about timeliness and i know some of u have complaint for ages and nothing was done.

Jason sometimes isn't online for a long time, and does get a bit "overloaded" with complaints, but he mentioned that if ONE of you (one of the admins?) could be a spokesperson for this site and email him any pics that are leeched from this site and he will remove them. this is just so that when he receives the email from that particular person, he can pay special attention to that complaint, instead of seiving thru the many complaints he sometimes receives. his email addresses were listed somewhere in this thread rite? those emails he does check.

He also did mention that if you post pics of girls online, you may want to be "prepared" for bad things to happen to them (like what jeffgoh has mentioned). not that he encourages such behavior, but to put it bluntly and without offence, "you wanna post picture online, where do u think it'll end up?" and in a way he has a point, if the girl is chio, it WILL end up somewhere. there are all kinds of sickos online, and i have to say at least sggirls doesn't promote "sick" practices.

All in all, he's more than willing to take the pics off the site if he's imformed, but please bear with his lack of timeliness due to his busy schedule. i've suggested that he adds more mods to his site to review complaints and he told me he'll figure out a way to improve this "complaint system".

ok.. there i'm done "passing the message"

please don't shoot the messanger!!! :confused:

if anyone is wondering, i "know" jason online becos i am a regular member at a sister site called sgforums. i personally SELDOM browse sggirls becos the quality of pics (photography-wise) there are shit, and even if the original quality was good, after uploading, the server will compress the pics and it'll look shit anyway.

:D :D

Originally posted by jOhO

I just spoke to the Admin of sggirls.com, his name is Jason.

According to him, he just took the pics down, which weren't brought to his attention until i msged him. He's more than willing to take such pics down, but urges you that it is not within his control WHO posts these pics up, and when. It's like if i post pornography on this site, of course it will be taken down, but the admin here can't stop me right? of course the matter here is about timeliness and i know some of u have complaint for ages and nothing was done.

Jason sometimes isn't online for a long time, and does get a bit "overloaded" with complaints, but he mentioned that if ONE of you (one of the admins?) could be a spokesperson for this site and email him any pics that are leeched from this site and he will remove them. this is just so that when he receives the email from that particular person, he can pay special attention to that complaint, instead of seiving thru the many complaints he sometimes receives. his email addresses were listed somewhere in this thread rite? those emails he does check.

He also did mention that if you post pics of girls online, you may want to be "prepared" for bad things to happen to them (like what jeffgoh has mentioned). not that he encourages such behavior, but to put it bluntly and without offence, "you wanna post picture online, where do u think it'll end up?" and in a way he has a point, if the girl is chio, it WILL end up somewhere. there are all kinds of sickos online, and i have to say at least sggirls doesn't promote "sick" practices.

All in all, he's more than willing to take the pics off the site if he's imformed, but please bear with his lack of timeliness due to his busy schedule. i've suggested that he adds more mods to his site to review complaints and he told me he'll figure out a way to improve this "complaint system".

ok.. there i'm done "passing the message"

please don't shoot the messanger!!! :confused:

if anyone is wondering, i "know" jason online becos i am a regular member at a sister site called sgforums. i personally SELDOM browse sggirls becos the quality of pics (photography-wise) there are shit, and even if the original quality was good, after uploading, the server will compress the pics and it'll look shit anyway.

:D :D

I think this Jason is just playing dumb.

The nature of his website is bound to attract leeched photos. Does he think that the participants will post pictures of their own sisters and girlfriends for others to ogle over?

It's just common sense that most or all the pictures posted on that website are either leeched or voyeuristic

If he actively takes down pictures that are leeched, he will soon have no pictures anymore.