Nikon Raw (NEF) In PS/Adobe Bridge

digital

Feb 7, 2006

I have just started to shoot in raw format on my Nikon camera. However, when I downloaded into my comp, they cant recognise the file format (nef) in either CS nor Adobe bridge.

Could someone please help?

I have tried to change the preference in Bridge - nef to CS but to no avail....:dunno:

use nikon viewer , nikon capture

Thanks guys for the info. Will try it out!! :thumbsup:

I can view NEFs from the Bridge, update your ACRs.

yo bro, what is ACRs???.............

Wait wait.......... it's Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) tio boh???

But update liao, cannot leh???

Hi bro, I downloaded almost all the version, still cannot leh.... btw, I am using D70s and CS.... any bor can help.... once I take out the Nikon NEF plugin, cannot open the file liao... :dunno:

You need CS2. The latest Camera RAW for Photoshop CS (ver 2.4) supports only these cams : EOS20D, EOS 1Ds Mk II, Powershot S70, Powershot G6, KM 7D and DImage A200.

You need Camera RAW 3.1 for your D70s but that only works on Photoshop CS2.

(There is one version that may work. Camera RAW 2.2, but that's for D70. Don't know can work or not. Can't blame them... in 2004 D70s was not out yet.)

SEXiao said:
yo bro, what is ACRs???.............

Wait wait.......... it's Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) tio boh???

But update liao, cannot leh???
Adobe Camera RAW.

philliptan said:
You need CS2. The latest Camera RAW for Photoshop CS (ver 2.4) supports only these cams : EOS20D, EOS 1Ds Mk II, Powershot S70, Powershot G6, KM 7D and DImage A200.

(There is one version that may work. Camera RAW 2.2, but that's for D70. Don't know can work or not. Can't blame them... in 2004 D70s was not out yet.)

Not really. ALL camera RAW for CS does not work for D70s. (though works for D70 NEF)

So, if "digital" has CS2, non issue, just update to camera RAW 3.3.
If he is using CS, no luck.

However, there is a workaround:

Download "Adobe DNG Converter & Camera Raw 3.3 update" under the version CS2. unzip it and install only the DNG Converter program. Use it to batch convert the NEF files to DNG. Then open the converted images using Photoshop CS. Done! (A bit troublesome but it works.)

Give it a go.

cocoa

philliptan said:

Hi thanks, no wonder lar... how I install also cannot work... need CS2... :sweatsm:

cocoa said:
Not really. ALL camera RAW for CS does not work for D70s. (though works for D70 NEF)

So, if "digital" has CS2, non issue, just update to camera RAW 3.3.
If he is using CS, no luck.

However, there is a workaround:

Download "Adobe DNG Converter & Camera Raw 3.3 update" under the version CS2. unzip it and install only the DNG Converter program. Use it to batch convert the NEF files to DNG. Then open the converted images using Photoshop CS. Done! (A bit troublesome but it works.)

Give it a go.

cocoa

Okie thanks, will go try it out... seem a little conplicated though.... thanks... :thumbsup: