March 21st 2009 Pentax Outing - Kampung Lorong Buangkok

fengwei

Aug 25, 2004
Queenstown
www.pbase.com
Venue: Kampung Lorong Buangkok (Off Sengkang East Avenue near Yio Chu Kang Road)
Date: March 21st
Time: 8:30am onwards

The place
Tucked away in a corner in urban Singapore is a slice of village living that has barely been touched by modern life.
Houses in Kampong Buangkok

Kampong Lorong Buangkok is the last surviving kampong (Malay for village) on mainland Singapore.

The village is made up of wooden huts with zinc roofs, many of them empty as most families have since moved out.

Chickens pecking away on the narrow dirt roads are a common sight. A picture of idyllic charm, the village is popular with photography enthusiasts hoping to capture a part of old Singapore before it fades away.

Address
Off Sengkang East Avenue near Yio Chu Kang Road

Getting There
By Bus: Take SBS bus no. 88 and alight at the junction of Ang Mo Kio Ave 5 and Yio Chu Kang Road. Walk towards Gerald Drive.

Desmond just visited that place a couple of weeks ago w/ his newly bought ZX-L film camera:

http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=476797

More photos about this place can be found here:

http://www.pbase.com/synapseman/kg_lor_buangkok
http://www.flickr.com/photos/budak/sets/72157601646966995/
http://suhailaj.fotopages.com/?entry=346119

Or just do your own search :)

It's an interesting place, I'm sure you'd love the trip. If you wanna join us for the outing, please put down your name and the dates (14/21/28) that you prefer.

Cheers and happy shooting!

1. fengwei (hp: 94281380), dates: 14/21/28

Alamak, you beat me by 2 mins. Heh. I'll go close mine...

I'm free all morning/afternoon weekends unless stated. Count me in. Wanna include sunrise/sunset shot as well since it's near punggol?

2. baracus

Hi, I am a new Pentaxer. I am very interested to join in your group. I think I am free on weekends. Beacuse I dont know that place, so I will get there toghter with FengWei.

2. baracus
3. entangled
Heihei, wise men think alike, don't we :bsmilie:

Hi, I am a new Pentaxer. I am very interested to join in your group. I think I am free on weekends. Beacuse I dont know that place, so I will get there toghter with FengWei.

Welcome aboard :)

2. baracus (14/21/28)
3. flowerpot (14/21)
3. entangled (14/21/28)

Can't make it that day :(

But if change of date to any other Sat, I should be ok.

Have fun!

So you can't even make it on any of these days? 14 or 21 or 28?

Oops. I mean, 14 is out. (Doing a shoot for friends.)

Oh, 21 also out. (Work!)

Only free on 28.

I see so far most are ok with 14, so do go ahead!

2. baracus (14/21/28)
3. flowerpot (14/21)
3. entangled (14/21/28)
4. Equatorer (14/21/28)

2. baracus (14/21/28)
3. flowerpot (14/21)
3. entangled (14/21/28)
4. Equatorer (14/21/28)
5. darren (14/21/28)

hope i'll finally be able to come for this month's outing!

Wow.

too bad cant make it for 14 march either. =/
21/28 march out for me too. Busy period.

Enjoy yourselves, bros.

2. baracus (14/21/28)
3. flowerpot (14/21)
3. entangled (14/21/28)
4. Equatorer (14/21/28)
5. darren (14/21/28)
6. felixcat8888 (21(maybe)/28)

I should be ok for 14/21/28. Probably my last Pentaxian outing before I re-locate to Beijing. I found a job there, so will be going there earliest April. Anyway ups for this outing !

2. baracus (14/21/28)
3. flowerpot (14/21)
3. entangled (14/21/28)
4. Equatorer (14/21/28)
5. darren (14/21/28)
7. hjbyeo (14,21)

Getting There
By Bus: Take SBS bus no. 88 and alight at the junction of Ang Mo Kio Ave 5 and Yio Chu Kang Road. Walk towards Gerald Drive.

Other buses are SBS bus No. 103, 70 and SMRT bus no. 854 that stop at Yio Chu Kang Road.

2. baracus (14/21/28)
3. flowerpot (14/21)
3. entangled (14/21/28)
4. Equatorer (14/21/28)
5. darren (14/21/28)
7. hjbyeo (14,21)
8. istDeS (14/21/28)

2. baracus (14/21/28)
3. flowerpot (14/21)