Iguanas in a bird park?? Anyone help ID?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChrISdWonG

Dec 23, 2005
Melbourne, Australia
www.pbase.com
My gf spied this chap at Jurong Bird Park... It wasn't in any enclosure, it was just basking at the edge of the jungle under the monorail track near the scarlet ibis enclosure. It posed for photos for awhile before lumbering into the undergrowth and off into the jungle. I wonder if it escaped from somewhere? There turned out to be a pair of them, but the other one was a bit shy and left as I started to approach. Green iguanas, I think... can anyone confirm?

Close up...
_MG_8032.jpg

_MG_8026.jpg

Off into the bushes...
_MG_8039.jpg

Yup they're a little dark :( ... cloudy at about 5:30pm, was trying to get a higher shutter speed so they were already deliberately underexposed, and I'm not too good with post-processing.

Hahaha thanks!! Care to share what you did? I desparately need to learn... I keep playing with all those sliders and can never seem to get the right balance between saturation, brightness etc etc

Hahaha thanks!! Care to share what you did? I desparately need to learn... I keep playing with all those sliders and can never seem to get the right balance between saturation, brightness etc etc
Used Photoshop
Did curve adjustment and levels adjustment, that's about it =D

Prefer not to use contrast/brightness sliders.. How do you put it.. It's just not so good, haha.

Yes, Iguana could be release by the members of the public.

Usually it's 'coz I don't like the grainy look, but this time, to be honest....

I didn't think of it :embrass:

Thanks for the tip/reminder!
Hehe, what camera are you using? =D
Nice detail, I think if P&S you use higher ISO some detail will be lost.. Pity it would be, especially on the first photo, I like that one a lot

weird, wonder if my monitor calibration yesterday was screwed up
my brother's computer views your iguanas as pretty ok. HRMPH

Used Photoshop