Help : What should I buy after I've gotten my FZ-50

Correction the true focal length of the lens is 7.4mm - 88.8mm.
This camera having used a small sensor has a focal length multiplier of about 4.73.
That's why it can achieve the 35-420mm (35mm equivalent).

See below for explaination
http://www.photoxels.com/tutorial_focal_length.html
and so does all non-dSLR use this method... even dSLR also use it (Oly got a 2x crop factor!)
if pana wants, they could simply slap a 24x36mm sensor in there(at a expensive of extremely high cost)... but what will user get? a 28-300mm f3.5-5.6 lens(and also a much much bigger and bulker camera)? or a 7.4-88.4mm f2.8-3.7 (35-430mm equiv) lens?

This camera having used a small sensor has a focal length multiplier of about 4.73.

Yeah this sounds correct:thumbsup:

whoa.. is that cropping factor of 4.73 correct???? :confused: is there a web site that supports that?

good thing i got my 400D now :D

Erm, but I don't see how that is a problem, because it's all about lens and body combination to give it a magnification factor equivalent to using a full-frame.

One advantage that the FZ series have over all DSLRs, for that price, you can't get a lens which will produce sharp images at that 'equivalent focal length' without pictures turning out soft.

and so does all non-dSLR use this method... even dSLR also use it (Oly got a 2x crop factor!)
if pana wants, they could simply slap a 24x36mm sensor in there(at a expensive of extremely high cost)... but what will user get? a 28-300mm f3.5-5.6 lens(and also a much much bigger and bulker camera)? or a 7.4-88.4mm f2.8-3.7 (35-430mm equiv) lens?

Totally agreed with you bro. Price factor and mobility issues here...

whoa.. is that cropping factor of 4.73 correct???? :confused: is there a web site that supports that?

good thing i got my 400D now :D
imho nothing wrong with cropping actually... it just mean the lens need to produce more resolution when comparing with a real 300mm lens on fullframe.

i could be wrong tho.

I've just gotten my FZ50 with a 1GB SD card, a camera bag, a tripod and a cleaning kit.

What accessories should I get next, other than add-on lenses?

I'm planning to get a lens protector and a dry box, what other recommendations did fellow FZ50 or other Panasonic owners get when they got their cameras?

Thanks
Awww.. if you had the intention to keep on buying add-ons, you should have gotten a DSLR in the first place. ;p

Wouldn't that be close to what Sony did for the R1? Not a FF sensor but an APS sensor, isn't it?

in simple yes, but thats only 24-120mm equiv, no where near the 420mm equiv of a fz50. :bsmilie:
and this is also the important factor for manufactor to decide in using small sensor.

if i'm not wrong, all cameras incl Dslrs have a cropping factor (heard some talk on the diff between film lenses and digital lenses sometime back) taht's why there is always some problems when you use a film lens on a dslr body,some artifacts or something. but after doing almost 1 and half years of research on the diff between bridge and dslr cameras, imho that the cost savings for the equivalent zoom range far exceeds any shortcomings in a bridge. yes there is noise, yes there is cropping yes there is ...... but then i save more than $5000 and up, so all those yes, i can accept! :D but the funny thing is, when all i want is to take some photos for fun, that cropping actually allows me to go up 20x :bigeyes: optical at 3M pixels see if any lens can beat that at no additonal extra cost :bsmilie:

olympus up coming 18x zoom :bsmilie:. and do a crop yourself to 3mp, most probably you get around 27x plus or minus. :eek:

Wait till you encounter low light. :p

olympus up coming 18x zoom :bsmilie:. and do a crop yourself to 3mp, most probably you get around 27x plus or minus. :eek:

WAH LIAO! 18X :bigeyes: heh heh then the sensor must be how small or is the frontend too heavy! :D

Wait till you encounter low light. :p

heh heh i not taking that "kind" of photos lah! ;) my subjects all doing things in broad daylight! :cool:

Walao.. not that "kind" lah.. What I meant was night street shots or theatre, then you'll start to find that such small sensor sizes are a real limitation when it comes to noise.

this is when dSLR comes in. :devil:

Many ppl still think that lowering the pixel count can actually get more focal length, but the truth is that, if u zoom up these images to 100%, you'll notice that actually there's no actual increase in focal length.

This theory has been explained when FZ-30 came up with this idea.

http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/panasonic/dmc_fz30-review/index.shtml

Many ppl still think that lowering the pixel count can actually get more focal length, but the truth is that, if u zoom up these images to 100%, you'll notice that actually there's no actual increase in focal length.

the 35mm equivalent focal length is directly related to the sensor's crop factor.
In some cameras, when you select a lower resolution, only the centre region of the full sensor is used, and thus the crop factor is increased, making the 35mm equivalent focal length increase as well.