Help needed..Canon 450D or Cannon 40D

Status
Not open for further replies.

vipercrow

Aug 15, 2008
Hello, i like to ask what is the different between Canon Eos 450D and Canon Eos 40D in terms of function?Which is better in capturing night scene?I am a beginner trying to start off photographing.Can you all help me to choose which camera is better for me?:)

Hello, i like to ask what is the different between Canon Eos 450D and Canon Eos 40D in terms of function?Which is better in capturing night scene?I am a beginner trying to start off photographing.Can you all help me to choose which camera is better for me?:)

40D better +++.

40D would be much better..... but of course, more $$$$. :sweat:

haha..for a normal shot,does lens EF S17-85 IS USM good enough to capture photo?what other recommendation of lens do i need?:dunno:

If your budget prohibits, take the EOS 450D. There has already been countless threads on the comparision between the 2 and 3 series of EOS for beginners.

My take is, if you have the budget - take the 40D. The ergonomic is greatly better than the 450D and the performance is way better. i.e 6.5fps vs 3.5 for 450d.
Analogy is, choosing between the BMW 3 and 5 series is your choice.

For reference, you can read this (old) threads of the then-new 400D vs 30D. Even though both are old models now the factors are almost the same.

Thread 1
Thread 2
Thread 3
Thread 4 (400D vs 40D)

For me, i've picked a 2 series body over a 3, and today i have never ever regretted my choice even though it's an 2nd hand set. Hell, even a 7 year old EOS 1D can outperform the new EOS 450D in certain factors :bsmilie:

Last edited:
haha..for a normal shot,does lens EF S17-85 IS USM good enough to capture photo?what other recommendation of lens do i need?:dunno:

If you are planning to shoot WA(Wide Angle) most of the time, i do not recommend this lens as the distortion is quite bad at the 17mm range. However it does suffice as an average walkabout len though.