Help ! my PS/2 port spoil !


Status
Not open for further replies.

kex

Senior Member
Oct 16, 2002
2,078
0
36
beebox
www.beebox.com.sg
#1
Hi,

need some advise regarding my CPU..

my CPU is running on windows NT,the PS/2 mouse suddenly died on me,but the keyboard still can use.

i tried diff mouse but still cannot,the light in the mouse is lighted when i plug it in,but the mouse just cannot move !;(

Is there any ways i can just change the PS2 port alone without changing the motherboard?

Or are there any other ways out ?

a million thanks !!
 

Apr 12, 2004
549
0
0
#2
kex said:
Hi,

need some advise regarding my CPU..

my CPU is running on windows NT,the PS/2 mouse suddenly died on me,but the keyboard still can use.

i tried diff mouse but still cannot,the light in the mouse is lighted when i plug it in,but the mouse just cannot move !;(

Is there any ways i can just change the PS2 port alone without changing the motherboard?

Or are there any other ways out ?

a million thanks !!
get a usb mouse...
 

soma

Senior Member
Aug 13, 2005
1,609
0
0
Local
#3
kex said:
Hi,

need some advise regarding my CPU..

my CPU is running on windows NT,the PS/2 mouse suddenly died on me,but the keyboard still can use.

i tried diff mouse but still cannot,the light in the mouse is lighted when i plug it in,but the mouse just cannot move !;(

Is there any ways i can just change the PS2 port alone without changing the motherboard?

Or are there any other ways out ?

a million thanks !!
after plug in a new mouse, did you restart you computer?
 

kex

Senior Member
Oct 16, 2002
2,078
0
36
beebox
www.beebox.com.sg
#4
my IT guy told me NT is not compatible with USB mouse lei..

i did restart the com after plugging in the new PS/2 mouse..

any help ?

thanks !
 

Apr 12, 2004
549
0
0
#5
kex said:
my IT guy told me NT is not compatible with USB mouse lei..

i did restart the com after plugging in the new PS/2 mouse..

any help ?

thanks !
Win NT not compatible with usb meh? even Win 98 can do it why Win NT cannot?? :think:
 

dEthANGeL

Senior Member
Jun 20, 2004
1,652
0
36
Siglap
#7
NT 4 has no support for USB devices.. though some may claim, majority will not work

Try upgrading to Win2k and give a USB mouse a shot.
 

hazta

New Member
Jul 17, 2005
1,036
0
0
SG,Northern
#8
kex said:
Hi,

need some advise regarding my CPU..

my CPU is running on windows NT,the PS/2 mouse suddenly died on me,but the keyboard still can use.
Hi there,

B4 suggestin anythin, wud like to gather a few info though.

1) Watz ur computer brand?
2) Wat version of NT r u runnin?
3) Wat actually u mean by "suddenly died on me"?
4) Did u receive any error messages?
5) Wat was e last thing u did prior to diz problem? (If u could remember)
6) Hav u left ur computer unused for a long period of time (more than six mths)

Regards
 

hazta

New Member
Jul 17, 2005
1,036
0
0
SG,Northern
#9
hazta said:
Hi there,

5) Wat was e last thing u did prior to diz problem?

Regards

Regarding #5 from my previous post,

5i) Did u install any software prior to diz problem?
5ii) When e 1st mouse suddenly failed, is it ur current or brand new one?
 

hazta

New Member
Jul 17, 2005
1,036
0
0
SG,Northern
#10
hazta said:
Hi there,

B4 suggestin anythin, wud like to gather a few info though.

1) Watz ur computer brand?
2) Wat version of NT r u runnin?
3) Wat actually u mean by "suddenly died on me"?
4) Did u receive any error messages?
5) Wat was e last thing u did prior to diz problem? (If u could remember)
6) Hav u left ur computer unused for a long period of time (more than six mths)

Regards

OOoppsss... Missed out 2 questions...

7) Did u change mouse prior to e failure? (eg: serial to PS/2)

8) Watz ur mouse brand n model?

Cheers
 

jbma

Senior Member
Dec 28, 2003
3,287
0
0
Tampines
#13
Cheapest solution is get a USB mouse. If not then upgrade to Windows 2000 server and use USB mouse.
 

kex

Senior Member
Oct 16, 2002
2,078
0
36
beebox
www.beebox.com.sg
#14
hazta said:
Hi there,

B4 suggestin anythin, wud like to gather a few info though.

1) Watz ur computer brand?
2) Wat version of NT r u runnin?
3) Wat actually u mean by "suddenly died on me"?
4) Did u receive any error messages?
5) Wat was e last thing u did prior to diz problem? (If u could remember)
6) Hav u left ur computer unused for a long period of time (more than six mths)

Regards

hi hazta,

my CPU is OEM type,should be running Windows NT 2000?

was usuing my mouse when i just stop on me !:cry:

never receive any error msgs..

was doing nothing special,editing colors only.

i'm using the com 6 days a week..


i bought a PS/2 to USB cable and will be getting my frd USB mouse to try later,thanks..

some of my program need to be on NT base,so cannot upgrade..:(

hopefully the adaptor will work..

Issit possible to take apart the PS/2port and put in a new one without re installing software ?
 

Nov 13, 2004
143
0
16
Tampines
#15
forgot to check. Is your mouse a wireless mouse? Two days ago, my wireless mouse also just stop responding without any reason. But after pressing connect button on the transmitter and the mouse. It is back again.
 

ST1100

Senior Member
Jun 18, 2003
1,785
0
0
Singapore, Bedok
#17
Some possible solutions:

- Can try getting a serial port mouse. Not expensive, but really hard to find.

- Patch your NT. i believe SP5 or SP6 onwards supports USB.

- You need to isolate if the problem is hardware or software. Can you try booting into another OS (use CDrom or floppy, try win98, win2k or Linux) and see if the PS2 mouse responds at all in any OS? If it responds, the problem is with your NT installation (re-install). If nothing works, it is probably the motherboard or the PS2 port. Might need to bring down to a shop for a checkup.
 

hazta

New Member
Jul 17, 2005
1,036
0
0
SG,Northern
#18
kex said:
hi hazta,

my CPU is OEM type,should be running Windows NT 2000?

was usuing my mouse when i just stop on me !:cry:

never receive any error msgs..

was doing nothing special,editing colors only.

i'm using the com 6 days a week..


i bought a PS/2 to USB cable and will be getting my frd USB mouse to try later,thanks..

some of my program need to be on NT base,so cannot upgrade..:(

hopefully the adaptor will work..

Issit possible to take apart the PS/2port and put in a new one without re installing software ?

Is ur mouse by chance is Intellimouse?
 

hazta

New Member
Jul 17, 2005
1,036
0
0
SG,Northern
#19
kex said:
hi hazta,

my CPU is OEM type,should be running Windows NT 2000?

was usuing my mouse when i just stop on me !:cry:

never receive any error msgs..

was doing nothing special,editing colors only.

i'm using the com 6 days a week..


i bought a PS/2 to USB cable and will be getting my frd USB mouse to try later,thanks..

some of my program need to be on NT base,so cannot upgrade..:(

hopefully the adaptor will work..

Issit possible to take apart the PS/2port and put in a new one without re installing software ?

First, if your keyboard is using PS/2 port, there could be a possible conflict in drivers.

Here's wat u can do...

1) If it is just a standard 2 button PS/2 mouse, use the keyboard to get to contral panel>>system>>mouse and remove it then reboot. Win should detect it when you restart.

or

2) If it is a mouse such as a logitech scroll mouse or other "specialty" mouse, go to the manufacturers website and download the latest drivers and install them.


Finally,

The problem could lie with your actual mouse port - maybe the port on the system board has died

1) If you replaced the driver and it doesn't work, and have tried 2 different mice, then you may need to replace your system board

or

2) Try getting a ps/2 to serial adapter and plug into your serial port.


IIRC, USB will not work on NT.

Juz my humble 2 cents...
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom