Gardens by the bay

guosh

Oct 28, 2012
Singapore
1. in what area is critique to be sought?
Any area! Composition, exposure, lighting, color, etc. Anything that would help me improve

2. what one hopes to achieve with the piece of work?
Identifying with the lone tree as an expression of beauty with a dark side, being in nature and an artificial environment at the same time

3. under what circumstance is the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)
Taken around 10am in the morning.
Lumix GH1 with 20mm f/1.7 lens. ISO 100, Shutter speed 1600, F/1.7
Was thinking of the white tree of Gondor from Lord of the Rings when I took this.

4. what the critique seeker personally thinks of the picture
I like it, but it's probably because I'm new to photography. Just started to get out of auto-mode about a month ago, so I'm looking for any opportunities for improvement

8237958810_381dc1a6bc.jpg

There are several issues but i feel one issue which i must raise is that you have titled this as Garden by the Bay. Imagine you are a tourist and you would want to know more about Singapore's latest attraction Garden by the Bay, would you present this tree? Not forgetting one of the major landmark of this place other than the glass dome, is the artificial trees. I would find it strange to choose this as the main subject.

Hmm sorry about that. It's a first time posting and I figured I'd give it context via location rather than titling it 'alienation amidst glass walls'. Personally I tried to avoid taking the domes and artificial trees because I wanted to avoid milking something that's been overdone, and try to find things that people would miss out on. It's admittedly strange, but it's a personal choice to stay clear of landmarks. Thanks for the time though, and I'll remember to aptly title my work from here on end to avoid a mismatch of expectations.