G4 i book

Status
Not open for further replies.
bigfatfish said:
wow thanks skinny latte...reading your reply was like reading a page off a PC magazine :)

Haha. I'm a switcher who became a mac evangelist (tho I still love Linux).

if you have any questions, you can PM me, I'll help you along.

bigfatfish said:
actually i am more concerned about the durability.

fujitsu which is quite a reputable brand died on me twice. first time had to replace motherboard, now after warranty expire some months ago, the computer died again.

for Mac, i was looking at the Imac g5 or the Ibook g4.

any mac users out there experienced reliability issues?
I've been using a 12" PBook G4 for the last 18 months, no hardware problem so far ... The screen is definitely much better in terms of colours & contrast compared to my old Fujitsu Lifebook, and the current Dell notebook provided by my company.

However, if u're going to just have a Mac for net surfing, there may be some sites that won't work so well, or won't be displayed properly. For me, it's a portal done for my company by an external vendor. U may have some problems with shared applications if u work at a company which is still using DOS-based programs, but I doubt there are many left :)

Last time, I used to have problems with internet banking in general. But with each update of Safari, the Mac browser, the problems get less & less.

Otherwise, I'm very happy with my Mac, the iLife applications rock! Anyway, most problems that I ever encountered were discussed and solved on the Macuser SG forum recommended by skinnylatte. They rock too :)

Cheers!

Hi guys , the current IMAC g5 on the apple website is the Revision B model right?

According to the webpage, only the OS Tiger and iLife is given, so i was wondering if the mac has any software equivalent to Excel and Words ? And roughly how much?

bigfatfish said:
Hi guys , the current IMAC g5 on the apple website is the Revision B model right?