Food Photography (1st try)

Status
Not open for further replies.

cg171s

Jul 20, 2006
Auckland
Hi all, after a loooong time being a lurker, I've decided to try uploading my photos to CS :bsmilie:

This is my first try at food photography while helping my friend to take some photo for her cafe.

So, enjoy and please, shoot me comments or critics :bsmilie:

#1 Hamburger (with super extra mayo :bsmilie:)
2737814526_b8129004be.jpg

#2 Spaghetti
2737814148_6e2a3ea01f.jpg

#3 Fried Banana with Cheese and Strawberry
2737814080_aa0e6d1d5d.jpg

#4 Chrisantemum Tea with Honey
2736978499_096a3944c3.jpg

#5 Caramel Macchiato
2736979235_e6739bd2f6.jpg

Here are some extra shoots that I've also took

#6 Cinnamon
2736979343_0dd6680961.jpg

#7 Oil Lamp
2736978149_0c153e008f.jpg

That's all folks :bsmilie:

Somehow find the photos a bit flat.

Hey thanks for viewing and the comment

You mean flat as in not enough color saturation? And is it for a particular photo or all of them?

hmm i think he means flat lighting?
Flat lighting-Low contrast lighting or lighting which provides little or no shadowing.

yeah perhaps you can try playing around with the contrast and levels of the pictures. It should be able to bring out the food more.

BTW the hamburger looks super sinful :bsmilie:

#5 on a black background or a pattern background would look stunning =) makes me hungry

hmm i think he means flat lighting?
Flat lighting-Low contrast lighting or lighting which provides little or no shadowing.

I see, hmmm... well the photos were all taken at my friends cafe using only available light and fill in with a reading light :bsmilie:
Have to be better the next time ;)

Any more inputs? Is the composition good enough?

About the hamburger.. yea man, it's sinful.. hahahaha

After the shoot we eat all those foods, but nobody wants to try to finish the hamburger..
hahahaha :bsmilie:

i think you need to know that most food photography is fake.
the photographer many times modified the food.