Fast lens? Slow lens?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jsbn

Jul 24, 2002
Planet Eropagnis
I was told that a lens f/2.8 can be considered a 'fast' lens and any lens f/3.5 onwards can be classified as a 'slow' lens.

I'm still a little confused with the f-stop markings on the lens despite reading so many articles. So do correct me if I'm wrong.

1) Lenses with f/2.8 markings (and below) allows for bigger apertures and thus good for night shots, indoor shots, low light shots then 'slower' lens with f/3.5 markings.

2) Lenses with f/3.5 markings can also be used to take night shots, however, due to the smaller aperture allowed, one will need a tripod or a very steady hand to take reasonably good nightshots.

So, am I right to say this?

BTW, I'm looking for a good lens for both night and day shots (seriously on a budget and I'm a newbie to begin with. So L lens is definitely out for me) with good telephoto zoom of ranges frm 18-200mm, any good lens u guys can recommend? :)

jsbn said:
I was told that a lens f/2.8 can be considered a 'fast' lens and any lens f/3.5 onwards can be classified as a 'slow' lens.

I'm still a little confused with the f-stop markings on the lens despite reading so many articles. So do correct me if I'm wrong.

1) Lenses with f/2.8 markings (and below) allows for bigger apertures and thus good for night shots, indoor shots, low light shots then 'slower' lens with f/3.5 markings.

2) Lenses with f/3.5 markings can also be used to take night shots, however, due to the smaller aperture allowed, one will need a tripod or a very steady hand to take reasonably good nightshots.

So, am I right to say this?

BTW, I'm looking for a good lens for both night and day shots (seriously on a budget and I'm a newbie to begin with. So L lens is definitely out for me) with good telephoto zoom of ranges frm 18-200mm, any good lens u guys can recommend? :)

1. Yes
2. Depends on the shutter speed. For me 1/30 sure no problem.