Ever wonder what the girl might be thinking?

Status
Not open for further replies.

scionfire

Apr 20, 2008
Hi to all moderators and forum users.

I am new to SLR photography and recently my brother bought a brand new Nikon D40x camera. Being interested in photography, i brought it out one afternoon to give it a test run. Before that, i mainly used P&S cameras to take my photographs. :embrass:

Of all that i've taken so far, i feel that this shot describes the best what i felt i was trying to capture at that point in time. (Activity and the vibrancy of a child's life) This was taken at Vivocity during a weekend afternoon.

Till now, thinking of what the girl is thinking about still baffles me. Perhaps, moderators and users can comment on how this picture might be improved upon as i feel that the composition of the picture is somewhat "dull" in that the girl is looking at the girl in the background, but she isn't exactly doing anything interesting as well. But the fact that the girl standing looks curious is highly baffling to me! :think:

I am interested in taking portraits and such impromptu glimpse of life in and around me and being new and absolutely clueless about what entails a good shot composition as well as the settings involved to make it work, i would appreciate all comments and honest feedbacks. :D

Another point to note is that i have not PS-ed any of my shots. The only editing i do is on the camera itself, post-shot. =)

Taken with Nikon D40x, Kit lens. Can't really remember the shutter speed as well as focal length as it was taken a few weekends back. =)

Thank you very much! :D

b4ate1.jpg

Confusing statements here, "Activity and the vibrancy of a child's life" but you feel the composition is dull and ask for improvements. Maybe you can fill us in on what was happening since you were the one who was there and not us.