Do you use 3rd party lenses?

Prismatic said:
Good lens makes a difference only you are view your pictures BIG.
Around 6 by 4... feet. I like to view my slides on a projector, when a picture is that big, all the imprefections and little tiny details you can't see otherwise shows through.

Anyway, you need a good projector lense too. Leica Super Planar, no less. :p

U got money can lar..... everything the best also can...... for poor folks like us..... we make do with the leftovers...... :blah:

I use 3rd party lenses when they are better than original. cost is another important factor too but not the only one.

Anyone using sigma lens on sigma camera especially their DSLR?

actually for some cases, some particular 3rd party lenses are recommended.

justdoit said:

Think sigma cameras can only use sigma lenses. This is not considered "3rd" party though since it's the same company that made both camera and lenses...

mpenza said:
Think sigma cameras can only use sigma lenses. This is not considered "3rd" party though since it's the same company that made both camera and lenses...

So U mean canon body can use sigma lenses, sigma body cannot use canon lenses? :think:

Izzit because sigma body has it's own type of mount?

AReality said:
So U mean canon body can use sigma lenses, sigma body cannot use canon lenses? :think:

Izzit because sigma body has it's own type of mount?

Yes! sigma bodies use their own mount.

justdoit said:

so a sigma lens on a sigma body is "original" (it's not an appropriate term to use, actually) but a sigma lens on a nikon is "3rd party"?

Then no valid comparison between "original" and "3rd party" what.

Technically, Nikkor Canon Sigma all "original". But you would rather use a Nikkor than a Sigma, yes?

Shouldn't we be comparing, say, Nikkor vs Canon vs Sigma vs etc etc etc?

This is getting a bit cheem.......

duh..everybody knows that sigma is not original :bsmilie:

or whatever lah...just buy a lens u like n shoot happily

clive said:
duh..everybody knows that sigma is not original :bsmilie:

or whatever lah...just buy a lens u like n shoot happily

third party lenses cheap and good! :thumbsup:

it is said that the difference between 1st party and 3rd party lens can be pretty distinct when a picture is blown up. heard it gets more grainy, and its not the film thats making it grainy. not sure how true is it though..

are original lens and 3rd part lens varies in quality alot ?

has anybody done comparison tests ? by zooming on photoshop; let say 200-400% and possibly see any difference ?

I got only 1 original canon lens so I cannot comment on 3rd party lens.. :bsmilie:

:dunno:
im afraid that the 3rd party lens might not work if i change my camera body next time, so might as well get all 1st party now..

Mavvy said:
are original lens and 3rd part lens varies in quality alot ?

has anybody done comparison tests ? by zooming on photoshop; let say 200-400% and possibly see any difference ?

I got only 1 original canon lens so I cannot comment on 3rd party lens.. :bsmilie:

i dun see any difference between canon 16-35L and sigma 15-30mm at f5.6.

i dun see any difference between canon 70-200L and sigma 70-200ex at f4.

i dun see any difference between canon 100mm macro and sigma 105mm macro at f2.8

ninelives said:
of coz it is not true, some 3rd party lens are much better than orginal.

Yeah, one example: the Tamron 28-75 F2.8 XR Di .... this lens is much better than the Nikkor. When I say much better, I view the optical quality as well as many other aspects like weight, filter size, handling, price, durability, distortion, close-focusing ability and some other qualities. BTW, for me optical quality is not everything. The Nikkor 28-70 F2.8 is such a huge monster, cost a bomb and has got such huge and cumbersome hood.

yulee said:
Sigma 12-24mm and 17-35mm any good? :think:

Using the 17-35mm.... very sharp in the centre, significant barrel distortion (expected) at 17mm... good lens, but not outstanding....