D5100 and what Lens to Singapore Formula1 Grand Prix?

try getting a 80-400 with a TC2.0?

...and hope he doesn't encounter an over-enthusiastic security guard.

TS, I usually just shoot with a 70-200 for F1. You can get shots where you can see the eyes, but you'll need to do it while the cars are stationary for the start, then do some cropping. Panning along the start/stop straight during the race will be very very difficult if you are on high focal lengths to fill the frame with the car and driver, but it's much easier at wider angles.

Reflex nikkor 2000mm f/11!!
else if, Nikkor 1200-1700 f/5.6-8
or 800 f/5.6
600 f4 AFS VR
300 f2 AIS

on a serious note, a 70-200/300 f4 afs/180 2.8ED + 1.4 or 1.7TC should do decently well without requiring you rob a bank.

...and hope he doesn't encounter an over-enthusiastic security guard.

TS, I usually just shoot with a 70-200 for F1. You can get shots where you can see the eyes, but you'll need to do it while the cars are stationary for the start, then do some cropping. Panning along the start/stop straight during the race will be very very difficult if you are on high focal lengths to fill the frame with the car and driver, but it's much easier at wider angles.

70-200mm is... about $3500?
That's more than 3 times of my kit!

How about pictures like this:
pool-764233@N24

(Image belongs to Stanley Yeo, referenced directly from Flickr)

Need to use monopod with the lens?

pool-764233@N24

You can rent the lens not necessary have to buy.

That is called panning, go read up on it than decide whether do you need a monopod or not. :)

You can rent the lens not necessary have to buy.

That is called panning, go read up on it than decide whether do you need a monopod or not. :)

thanks for the tip. :)

Actually I was referencing the size and angle of the picture from the seated grandstand.
More or less not able to get helmet shot so perhaps the whole car at least from where I will be seated.

Probably use wider angle and crop down to the car.

Now... to get a zoom lens... heh heh :cool:

Welcome to the expensive world of photography. Though I got my 70-200 f/2.8 for about $2200. But you can also rent.

pool-764233@N24

That's just panning. Monopod is up to you (you also might get scolded by the people sitting behind you), but for myself, I get better shots supporting the lens with my hand and then panning by twisting my waist.

thanks for the tip. :)

Actually I was referencing the size and angle of the picture from the seated grandstand.
More or less not able to get helmet shot so perhaps the whole car at least from where I will be seated.

Probably use wider angle and crop down to the car.

Now... to get a zoom lens... heh heh :cool:

Link to lens rental companies.
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/forums/54-Commercial-Services-Offered

If you want to rent, i suggest you do so early to avoid disappointment. The tele zooms are very hot during the F1 period.

This advertiser is already taking reservations for F1.

http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/thre...on-Olympus-Zeiss-Leica-Lens-DSLR-Flash-Lights

70-200 or 70-300 are the best lens for shooting racing!! good luck getting goos shots! ;)

on my D5100 it'll be 105-300 f4.2 and 105-450 f6.75-8.4.

Even more reach! Yeah!! :D

on my D5100 it'll be 105-300 f4.2 and 105-450 f6.75-8.4.

Even more reach! Yeah!! :D

You don't multiply aperture when calculating the crop factor...

Guys, I want to double confirm before I go rent the stuff.

Is it ok for this setup?

1) D5100
2) Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G VR II AFS
3) Nikon TC-20E III 2x Teleconverter
4) Tripod or Monopod?
5) 18-55mm (when walking around)

Can make it?

Lol bro. You add stops, not multiply the aperture.
I realised my mistake already.... :embrass:
BTW here're the F1 tickets :D
6008171065_5ecd631f9b.jpg

So can or not?

Guys, I want to double confirm before I go rent the stuff.

Is it ok for this setup?

1) D5100
2) Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G VR II AFS
3) Nikon TC-20E III 2x Teleconverter
4) Tripod or Monopod?
5) 18-55mm (when walking around)

Can make it?

hope you can bring it all in, as you need to pack your own stuff and something to much as well.

end up, your bag might be quite big, and the security might not let it in ... but just hope and pray they turn a blind eye

dingaroo said:
hope you can bring it all in, as you need to pack your own stuff and something to much as well.

end up, your bag might be quite big, and the security might not let it in ... but just hope and pray they turn a blind eye

I will test water on Friday and sat itself. If cannot go in at least the most important day is Sunday I will be aware.

Cowseye said:
I think can le, in ur case I dun think you really need the TC.

Hmmm... Must test water hor?

I want to take the pit stop also since in going all out to take pictures!

Estimated distance about 30metres away from my seat?