Hi, newbie here.

Could anyone enlighten me what's the use for the following accessories

Tele-converter 1.5x

Lens Adapter/Hood Set

Wide Converter 0.75x

Close-up lens 500D

Txs! :)

Tele-converter 1.5x
This just multiplies the focal length of the S3. Basicly, it increases the reach of the lens by 1.5X. So instead of being 36 mm to 432 mm, it is now 54 mm to 648 mm. So you get a 'bit' more zoom out of the camera. Makes it easier to take far away objects without getting closer to them. Its just a few pieces of glass that is placed infront of the camera. There are third party lenses that are compatible with the S3IS, like the Raynox DCR-1540PRO 1.54X

Lens Adapter/Hood Set
You need the adapter to add additional stuff, like the above mentioned Tele-converter. The canon has 58mm threads, so you can screw on UV filters, polarises, etc etc. You can get adapters from other companies, like Raynox or Lensmate.

Wide Converter 0.75x
Its similar to the tele-converter. Except it reduces the focal length. Makes 'more' of the image fit in. So its easier to take a large group of people without stepping back.

Close-up lens 500D
This makes it possible to take larger images of small objects. Its basicly a macro filter.

Hope this makes sense.

Jackal,

I will tell you what I know.

Tele-converter 1.5x => For increasing the zoom power of your camera

Lens Adapter/Hood Set => I think that it is necessary for hooking up the tele-converter or the wide converter to your camera.

Wide Converter 0.75x => Increasing the wide angle of your S3 from 35mm to 28mm (more or less)

Close-up lens 500D => Macro Lens?

Anyone want to confirm my understanding.

Simon

cerebrus said:
Tele-converter 1.5x