Camera and lense compatibility

Status
Not open for further replies.

John E

Oct 5, 2008
Hi,
I am a newbie with a newbie question.

I am curious what other lense beside their own brand can be used? e.g.
Canon, Nikon, Olypus/Sony..what other brand of lense can they use?

I also interest in Carl Zeiss lense. Can they be used for all brand?

Thanks for your answer.

There are a lot of 3rd party manufacturers who make their lenses in various mounts like Sigma, Tokina, Tamron and of course Zeiss. You just have to get right mount for whichever camera you are using. For some reason, some manufacturers make a better variety of lenses for a particular mount than others. Case in point is Zeiss. They must have made at least hald a dozen of lenses in ZF mount for Nikon but only recently, announced 3 lenses that will be made in EF(Canon) mount.

all most all lenses can be used on Canon/oly by adding an adapter, but nikon only take nikon mount lens. carl's have different mounting, and Tamron had a old design call adaptall, can be used for all system with adapters

Haven't buy any cam yet, just like to know if I buy certain brand, would I be restricted only to certain lense brand.

Thanks.

Haven't buy any cam yet, just like to know if I buy certain brand, would I be restricted only to certain lense brand.

You are restricted in:
a) you need to have the right mount type for your camera system. Mount here means: mechanical mount (Bayonet, Screw type etc.) and electrical mount (contacts, communication with camera). Mechanical mount is a must, electrical mount is optional.