ban smoking

Proven Fact #101: The silent gas has a greater kill zone over the noisy and loud.
Proven Fact #102: The quiet dog bites.

You can... I do. :bsmilie:

but if too many of us to it will they ban farting also huh.
If they ban I worry that the next time I enter a coffeshop they might put a plaster there lor :bsmilie:

so will smoking be allowed in singapore casino?

jesser said:
no smoking in kopitiam and bars/pubs from next year july 2006. hmmmmm...wonder what is going to happen. sure affect lottsa people. smokers who smoke in kopitiam with their coffee, beer drinkers.......bars and pubs business........:think:
Lots of smoking in CS kopitiam too? Big deal.

At least the govt give u 1 year to quit or change your smoking habit

i will fall sick easily if i inhale too much 2nd hand smoke, why should my health be affected by irresponsible smokers?

i wont suggest banning smoking totally, cos we still need smokers to pay for our taxes:bsmilie: :bsmilie:

I think all the arguments here are very one-sided.
I assume all of you are non-smokers?
The government allow cigarettes not only because of tax revenues. That's a very naive view.
Think of the bigger picture in terms of tourism, business and how the world would perceive our way of government. Not to mention the social implications if smoking was banned totally.
Having travelled extensively, never have i been to a country where smoking was outlawed totally. Even in japan and european countries they have smoking corners in indoor establishments.
Its not so simple, ban just ban lor. There will be major repercussions.

iduncheckmail said:
The government allow cigarettes not only because of tax revenues. That's a very naive view.
Think of the bigger picture in terms of tourism, business and how the world would perceive our way of government. Not to mention the social implications if smoking was banned totally.
Having travelled extensively, never have i been to a country where smoking was outlawed totally. Even in japan and european countries they have smoking corners in indoor establishments.
Yeah, the bottomline is $$ lor.

iduncheckmail said:
The aim is to encourage smokers to quit and discourage ppl frm smoking.

Of cos, never smoke not say u will die from Nicotine withdrawal syndromes or send u into a killing fit which you will grab ur kitchen chopper and kill anyone in sight cos u din smoke.

I did smoke for about 3 years. Then I quit in Aust for about a year.

The min I touched down in KL, I started smoking again.....peer group pressure or the cigarettes is so much cheaper compared to Aust. Abt Sgd$2.3++ Vs Sgd$12++

Now I have quit smoking for almost a year liao :embrass: Hope I dun have to pick it up once I go back to KL. :sweat:

The only reason for me to quit in Aust was the cost factor.
A pack a day Aud$10....one year about Aud$3650 = A lot of camera gears :sweatsm:

Sum it up, MUST QUIT liao

jsbn said:
Being a non-smoker, I'm actually fine with this.

They shld draw yellow boxes near dustbins actually. Want to smoke, stand there smoke, finish, dump it immediately where it shld belong and not flick it all over the place like I see some ppl doing that occasionally.

Alternatively, smoke in the comfort of ur own home. After dinner, sitting on the sofa and lighting up.

Home not good :( my neighbour smokes in his room, its window is 90 degrees to my window :( i get the stinking smoke smell all the time :(

Benign said:
....The only reason for me to quit in Aust was the cost factor.....
Sum it up, MUST QUIT liao...

Strange that money can motivate ppl more than the thought of dying of cancer (or of causing a loved one to die from it thru 2nd hand smoke inhalation) :confused:

jesser said:
sure affect lottsa people.

of course will affect a lot of people!

because it means that all smokers and especially non-smokers will live longer without all that 2nd hand smoke! :thumbsup:

Strange that money can motivate ppl more than the thought of dying of cancer (or of causing a loved one to die from it thru 2nd hand smoke inhalation)

Hahaa....the magic word is reality :bsmilie: I am not very smart, so being frugal or humble is the only mean to live life lor. :cry:

And I don't smoke in front of loved ones. ;)

But you smoke in front of someone else's loved one, and someone else's smoke will affect your loved one.. its a vicious cycle :D

All my loved ones living in Aust.

So, the vicious cycle you mentioned is highly unlikely.

Furthermore, I am against smoking. When people stop offering me their smoke.

I will also stop buying them carton of cigarettes from Duty Free lor. :bsmilie:

how does being in Aust an exclusion? there are people smoking in Australia too

Benign said:
All my loved ones living in Aust.

So, the vicious cycle you mentioned is highly unlikely.

CLQ said:
Home not good :( my neighbour smokes in his room, its window is 90 degrees to my window :( i get the stinking smoke smell all the time :(
My neighbour upstairs smoke in his room, and dumps the ciggie ash out of the window.

No gifts for guessing where all the ash lands... On my bed (since its right beside my window).

At least the neighbour before him doesn't smoke. :( Nowadays, I just keep my window shut and it becomes a roastin' microwave in there (doesn't help when u get the afternoon and evening sun straight into ya room).

It's simple economics; what smokers spend on cigarettes, they cut back spending on other stuff. (At least for those who refuse to quit.)

In Germany, the increase in tabaco tax has seen a drastic drop in revenue for their government as more people quit the habit. Of course Singapore government realises this. With the drop in revenue from tabaco, the government will have to find an alternative source. Maybe ERP??? Introduce more gantries? (I heard that they are now studying the use of GPS system to tax motorists?)

As the Late David Marshall once said... "Smokers are the persecuted minorities in Singapore". (Tongue in cheek of course.)