Are consumer grade lenses really that bad...

Status
Not open for further replies.

gremlin

Nov 15, 2002
www.pixelpixie.biz
when compared to a PRO lens? I mean, looking at the price difference between, say a F2.8 70-200mm and a f4.5/5.6 70-200mm, does the images produced by the latter really inferior to the former?

If it only offers barely noticeable image quality differences, then what is the impetus for buying a PRO lens, considering the big price premium one has to pay to get one?

p/s: I assume PRO lenses means all those with F2.8 and smaller f stops right? :D

Sorry but I am really a newbie to this lenses thingy :)

hmm...i guess 'pro' lenses are better in sharpness and colour rendition @ large apertures...but when stopped down to smaller apertures like f8-11, i guess 'consumer' lenses sharpness are v acceptable. but one must remember the limitations of a small aperture...tripod required, can't freeze motion etc. 'pro' lenses are also better built to withstand the possible harch working conditions of a professional photog.

having large aperture does not neccessary mean pro lens...it just means a faster lens :)

you've got to try them to believe it...but at the end of the day, the question is: have you maxed out the potential of your current setup? if so and you feel that your equipment id limiting you (and you have the cash!) then go for what you think will help you best.

cheers

Larger aperture doesn't mean better sharpness, eg. it is commonly believed that the Nikon 50/1.8 is sharper than the 50/1.4 or 1.2 versions and reported tests show that it is so. The larger the aperture, the more difficult it is to perfect the optics.

Better sharpness doesn't mean better pictures too. Sometimes, you see some nice pictures published in Amateur Photographer using really cheap camera and optics, like a Centon or an old Yashica etc. Composition, subject etc are more important.