Any tips To Minimise Dust When Changing Lens On DSLR?


Status
Not open for further replies.

cichlid

Senior Member
Dec 2, 2006
5,074
4
38
S'pore
#1
Hi

Happy Lunar New Year to all.

As above, any tips ?
 

DewaKarma

Senior Member
May 20, 2006
2,441
0
36
Jurong east
#3
hmm..a tricky one to avoid dust...but most ppl would invert the body downwards and attach the lens fast... but still depends on where you are too...if surrounding too dusty...dun change at the place..:)
 

ipin

Senior Member
Nov 21, 2005
5,387
0
0
#5
Can change in your bag and remember to switch off your camera when changing.
 

Snoweagle

Senior Member
Jan 26, 2005
14,002
0
0
Pasir Ris, Singapore
#6
Hi

Happy Lunar New Year to all.

As above, any tips ?
Avoid dusty, moist and sandy places such as near road areas and beaches. Also, when changing lens, point the DSLR downwards and remove the lens, then quickly mount the other lens.
 

Aug 31, 2005
457
0
16
Bt Timah
#7
shoot..i always never off leh... if it's windy, i change with my back facing the wind
 

ipin

Senior Member
Nov 21, 2005
5,387
0
0
#8
shoot..i always never off leh... if it's windy, i change with my back facing the wind
As the censor would have a charge (Static) when the power is on, dust particles would have a higher chance to attach onto it. :sweat:
 

Zhiliang

New Member
Dec 20, 2006
684
0
0
Serangoon
#9
After turning off your camera, wait a while before changing lens? Let the static lessen first???
 

jnet6

Senior Member
Apr 21, 2004
8,184
0
36
not here often anymore
#10
After turning off your camera, wait a while before changing lens? Let the static lessen first???
Unsure... maybe use a grounding wire to discharge the camera static first. :sweat:

If time doesn't permit, then got to do the fast way by turning off then change lens immediately.
 

jOhO

Senior Member
Apr 20, 2003
6,485
0
0
42
Singapore
www.expressivelyjoho.com
#11
i just change whenever and however i need to...

rather have speed and efficiency on the field then when i'm back home/studio then do watever i need to do - like cleaning/blowing the sensor.
 

Stratix

New Member
Oct 13, 2005
936
0
0
#12
i'll send my camera to canon for cleaning once i see dust in my pictures... pay $21 and wait for 1 hour (or even less if you tell them you're in a hurry!)

rather then miss a shot just because of scared of dust / dont like changing lens etc etc, i'll rather get a dusty sensor then to miss a shot! =)
 

cheekiang

New Member
Jan 15, 2007
128
0
0
41
#13
i'll send my camera to canon for cleaning once i see dust in my pictures... pay $21 and wait for 1 hour (or even less if you tell them you're in a hurry!)

rather then miss a shot just because of scared of dust / dont like changing lens etc etc, i'll rather get a dusty sensor then to miss a shot! =)
hi,

where you send your lens to clean har???

chee kiang
 

Vulpix0r

Senior Member
Oct 2, 2002
3,136
0
0
West
#16
second this. just change and dun think so much lah!
Third this. Just change and heck care. A bit of dust won't kill your camera! Worst case just send for cleaning or just buy one of those sensor cleaning tools. It's very easy to clean the sensor these days, it's ridiculous!
 

Jan 12, 2007
1,139
0
0
Woodlands
#18
if you are really concern about dust... always bring plastic bag big enough to fit the camera and one hand to change your lens... im sure this will help a lot to avoid dust getting in to your sensor... but make sure of course that your bag is dust free...

but im not practicing this one... coz i dont care at all with those dust.... :bsmilie: :bsmilie:
 

May 27, 2006
352
0
0
Redhill, Singapore
#19
As the censor would have a charge (Static) when the power is on, dust particles would have a higher chance to attach onto it. :sweat:
Aha! This gives me an idea... get one of those small battery-powered / usb-powered air ioniser... turn it on and change lens near it... dust will be attracted to ioniser more than to the sensor as ioniser has higher voltage at its ion-producing tips :)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom