AMD or Intel??


Status
Not open for further replies.

canturn

Senior Member
Sep 29, 2002
2,641
0
0
East, SG
www.lyricalmoments.com
#1
Need advice on a new desktop, getting an office space and need one anyway.

Basically, it's for photo editing and some gaming when I need to unwind. Been hearing that AMD is better for graphic processing, is that true?

Budget around $2k... Btw, what's this new Core 2 Dual from Intel? sorry, need to enlighten me on these...
 

Klose

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2005
2,619
0
0
#2
AMD AM2 :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Intel - Idiot Inside :sweatsm:
 

Ola

Senior Member
Oct 6, 2005
820
0
0
Hougang
#5
That's fast. Usually it take a month or 2 for the processor to arrive when announce. :bigeyes:
Get the core 2 Duo if possible. :thumbsup:
 

Ola

Senior Member
Oct 6, 2005
820
0
0
Hougang
#7
I prefer MSI as the distributor customer service is good.
You can try ASUS too.
 

ExplorerZ

Senior Member
Jan 9, 2006
7,752
0
36
West Legion
hkchew03.deviantart.com
#8
order from dell.com.US even better... at 3k or close you get superb system, with one of the toprange graphic (if you are into gaming). but too bad it not up yet in the SG site :cry:...

for now i would say Intel all the way!:thumbsup: many benchmark have show that their E6700 iirc which is 60% of the price of AMD FX-62(their top range processor) gave the same or even better performance. for not so "serious" editing maybe you might wan to get the cheaper core2duo.
 

canturn

Senior Member
Sep 29, 2002
2,641
0
0
East, SG
www.lyricalmoments.com
#9
ExplorerZ said:
order from dell.com.US even better... at 3k or close you get superb system, with one of the toprange graphic (if you are into gaming). but too bad it not up yet in the SG site :cry:...

for now i would say Intel all the way!:thumbsup: many benchmark have show that their E6700 iirc which is 60% of the price of AMD FX-62(their top range processor) gave the same or even better performance. for not so "serious" editing maybe you might wan to get the cheaper core2duo.
er? Mine's serious editing work with photoshop.... isn't the core2duo the top of the line now? :confused:
 

Ola

Senior Member
Oct 6, 2005
820
0
0
Hougang
#10
canturn said:
er? Mine's serious editing work with photoshop.... isn't the core2duo the top of the line now? :confused:
No need to get the best as you will be paying a premium for it now. Just get the lowest range of Core 2 Duo or the best price/performance.
If you do not want to DIY, wait for Dell SG. It should be available soon.
 

Big Kahuna

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2004
2,126
1
38
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#11
Not sure if you are DIY or buy package....if DIY, get the Intel Core 2 duo...it's already in Sim Lim in small quantity....slightly more costly but more powerful and quiet and runs cooler :thumbsup: Every single review gives tumb up for this new chip :)

check it out http://sg.hardwarezone.com/priceguide/newsview.php?id=1542

But then I notice a problem with Intel is early adopter always caught out as they tends to change architecture when the chip gets mature...this happen to Pentium, pentium2, pentium3 and pentium 4....Intel just change the socket or pin layout shortly after that the older motherboard simply has no way to upgrade to faster processor later although it's same family :(
 

Robbo73

New Member
Jul 17, 2006
204
0
0
Bukit Timah
#14
I've had AMDs for the last couple of upgrades but I'm afraid I can't ignore Intel anymore. :mad2:

The E6300/6400/6600 which is available in Singapore (I like Fuwell in SLS or Funan personally) appears to wipe the floor with AMD in all areas. AMD responded by slashing prices of the X2 processors so it's tough to lose but if you want performance, you won't get it from AMD until next year at the earliest when they change their chip architecture from the K8... (I read too much)

Very gently overclocking of "budget" Intel E6300/E6400 beats even the mighty AMD FX-62 in almost all areas...

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2802

A bit dissappointed as an AMD fan but given I need to upgrade my MB, graphics and chip together, I might as well switch. :cry:
 

Wai

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
5,270
0
36
39
South Pole with Penguin
singastro.org
#15
my intel E6700 really so much cooler than my Prescott 3.6G, running 1.2V only!

The stock E6700 HSF is even more quiet than my old northwood 3.0G

using the stock HSF and standard kingston DDR2 ram, i am running the 2.66Ghz E6700 at 3.5Ghz now on 1400Mhz FSB, even the memory frequency is running at 1:1 too!
 

canturn

Senior Member
Sep 29, 2002
2,641
0
0
East, SG
www.lyricalmoments.com
#16
Wai said:
my intel E6700 really so much cooler than my Prescott 3.6G, running 1.2V only!

The stock E6700 HSF is even more quiet than my old northwood 3.0G

using the stock HSF and standard kingston DDR2 ram, i am running the 2.66Ghz E6700 at 3.5Ghz now on 1400Mhz FSB, even the memory frequency is running at 1:1 too!
Think I'll get the 2.4GHz E6600

What's a good motherboard to go with it now? Need quite a bit of USB2 and Firewire.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom