A possible MF newbie here...

Status
Not open for further replies.

SzennyBoy

Mar 3, 2002
London, UK
www.zen76903.zen.co.uk
Hi all,

It appears that I'm gonna participate in this forum more now as I'm about to take over the care of my dad's unused Hasselblad 503cw system with 3 lenses, 2 magazines and a PME 51 prism finder. :D

Do you fellas know what's involved if I decide to go digital with this kit? As I understand it, there are a few now-discontinued digital backs that may fit the 503cw. Does anyone know which brands and models these are (other that the Kodak DCS Pro Back Plus)?

Thanks for any info here.

SzennyBoy said:
Hi all,

It appears that I'm gonna participate in this forum more now as I'm about to take over the care of my dad's unused Hasselblad 503cw system with 3 lenses, 2 magazines and a PME 51 prism finder. :D

Do you fellas know what's involved if I decide to go digital with this kit? As I understand it, there are a few now-discontinued digital backs that may fit the 503cw. Does anyone know which brands and models these are (other that the Kodak DCS Pro Back Plus)?

Thanks for any info here.

hey, szennyboy!

wonder if u still remember me? we met at SEED 2-3mths back at penin, b4 u flew back to UK? :)

i searched ard for u. this is a chart by hassy themselves.
http://www.hasselblad.com/Archive/documents/TableHTML/digi_chart_&w=665x600.html

hope it helps?

Thanks a bunch, nightwolf75... Looks like there are quite a few back available for the 503cw (with and without the Winder). I think I'll investigate the options with the Winder as I'm pretty sure I'll get that eventually.

Digital backs for medium format [incl Hassy] are VERY VERY EXPENSIVE. It's really difficult to justify the cost unless you're really doing a lot of 'highly paid' work with your medium format system.

A better way is to shoot colour negs [or black n white], and have the lab process and immediate scan digitally onto CDs.

br/porcupine