SGTrekker 10D9N Everest Panorama Trek (17-26 March 2011)

Thanks to limwhow for posting so many good photos of our fellow trekkers in action.
Here I managed to took one candid shots of him & SereneXMM during trekking.
(Taken @ 1328 hrs, close to an hour after we departed from Lukla. Only 1 hr Dr...).

5580537987_d8f5cd9617_z.jpg

at that time, haven't kpkb yet :bsmilie:

Nice shot of kids Ivypin. Since we are on kids, I have some too....

5563746592_2e8a90b17c_b.jpg
Wah, lovely lovely LOVELY 50mm f/1.2!
Ok, this one is drama. WK stepped on this poor boy's paper plane and the boy started bawling away. Luckily WK had some candies to pacify him. Eventually the mother also came out to help pacify the kid hehe.
Haha... so cute!

vngks - This is a keeper :thumbsup:!!
Did you use a fill flash or some reflector?... back lighting, yet light on face is soo sooooo sweet...!!!!!...
Agree! It is really a beauty.
In Sherpa language, my private porter would say Liamo Poom ~ which means Pretty Girl!

Thanks to limwhow for posting so many good photos of our fellow trekkers in action.
Here I managed to took one candid shots of him & SereneXMM during trekking.
(Taken @ 1328 hrs, close to an hour after we departed from Lukla. Only 1 hr Dr...).

5580537987_d8f5cd9617_z.jpg

Haha... yah, only started walking for one hour and already feeling so shacked liao! Hahaha...!

at that time, haven't kpkb yet :bsmilie:
Acpical...! My goodness, where have you been the whole week??
We all missed you like siao lah!
Why? Computer upgrading? Photoshop upgrading? Fingers upgrading?
Wei... where your photos?!! Come come come come!
Don't keep us all waiting!!!

T R A V E L O G U E

Day 6: Phakding to Namche Bazaar... Siong ah...

Adrian told us the night before:
"Ladies and Gentlemen, tomorrow is the toughest trek on the whole trail. Our trek would take us from 6 to 8 hours and we will be doing plenty of ascending an descending. Ultimately we will gain in altitude from where we are at 2600m here at Phakding to 3440m at Namche Bazaar. The last stretch of the trek before we hit Namche Bazaar will be the killer - it will be a non-stop zig zag climb all the way up to the end. So I want you all to sleep early tonight and rest well.
Fall in at the parade square at 6:30am for breakfast!"

Rest well we did. And an early rise we had.
SgTrekker would of course show their customers the beautiful, neat and attractive photos of the lodge rooms. Keke... Let me show our audiences how the REAL room looked like.
Simple. Basic. Cold.

5582187286_0c65b48a6c_b.jpg

We walked out only to find that many of our fellow trekkers have been up since much earlier that morning and a few had even gone across the suspension bridge to take some sunrise shots!
Here, wkcheah, cnleong, Patrick, JohnnyLCP and Goose Goi were already up bright and shiny!

5582188944_62bf4fdde2_b.jpg

Here was where we were at that moment from Google's Satellite view.
We could even see the suspension bridge stretching across.

5581600859_4076bf083c_b.jpg

Siao one lah me. People took sunrise shots, I also want to follow people take sunrise shots.
Just that I was too lazy to walk across the suspension bridge. Thus my sunrise shot only had a tiny portion of mountain.
Just for the fun of it...
5581668331_89f40df20e_z.jpg

T R A V E L O G U E

Breakfast

We all had breakfast, with full anticipation of what was to come. But yet, not knowing exactly what was ahead of us. Only the two Trek Leaders Adrian and Melvin who had done this trek before knew what lies ahead.

Poor Ah Wind and Ah Hawk - such big size men, but their toast with egg and hot milk coffee might not fill their stomach sufficiently. No worries, we all had our endless supply of energy bars and what-nots along the way...

5581711449_14a5f80c02_b.jpg

Warming up...

Wah lau eh... I am sure many of us haven't done warm ups since perhaps even during Army days... But here, hmmm... if Adrian and Melvin said do warm ups, we'd all better follow their instructions because what lies ahead may be a tough tough work out for our thighs...

Here, every one was just making sure the trekking pants and trekking shoes were stretched to their maximum comfort.

5581713183_37ee700220_b.jpg

But for some, warming up stretching exercises were more for show off purpose than anything else...

5582300128_c208c1a8fe_b.jpg

Last minute instructions...

Here, some last minute instructions from the Trek Leaders.
But honestly, I cannot recall what they were saying that resulted in so many of us raising our hands. Do any one of you guys remember?

5582301874_32f13b3377_b.jpg

Off we went!

And at 7:50am, we all started our trek...

5581719531_a9e48595e7_b.jpg

I missed the last 24 hours and realized our dear limwhow have reached Phakding already on the travelogue.. :thumbsup:

Here, i'd like to back track a little to our adventure of Holi festival at Kathmandu.

Colorful Tourists on Holi Festival

Painted face

Little boy & his mother at the Hindu festival queue

Trekking Data and Information for Day 6 Phakding to Namche Bazaar

Here is some churned out information and analysis of our Day 6 trek.
Some of the data may not be exactly correct - for example, that 26 hours of trekking is certainly not accurate.
But the total horizontal distance trekked 14.49km, and from a lowest elevation of 2613m to a highest elevation of 3419m, with a total altitude lost of 654m and total altitude gain of 1450m - all these are accurate data.

As can be seen from the chart, the last 3km of trek was the most siong part when we ascended from 2800m to 3400m.

5579025041_231396248c_b.jpg

:bigeyes: not only Phakding.. already started the next leg to Namche.. how to catch up lah?? :sweat::sweat:

Here... still at Kathmandu's Durbar Square:

Alfred Hitchcock re-make

Malla Statue

I missed the last 24 hours and realized our dear limwhow have reached Phakding already on the travelogue.. :thumbsup:

Here, i'd like to back track a little to our adventure of Holi festival at Kathmandu.
Painted face

Certainly, Wkcheah, certainly!
Show your shots of any part of the trip! And this is a really nice and colourful face!

:bigeyes: not only Phakding.. already started the next leg to Namche.. how to catch up lah?? :sweat:

Here... still at Kathmandu's Durbar Square:
Malla Statue

Swee, Wkcheah!
Ok Ok... I slow down liao, I slow down liao...!
Pai seh pai seh...

No need to worry, Johnny my man. Just make sure you every day climb up and down 25 floors four times. When that time comes, I am sure ask you to summit Mount Chomolangma also no problem!

Nice flare on our constant trekking companion, the mules and the Dropkyos!

Nice perspective on the porters, JohnnyLCP!

And yes, a lovely Stupa at Benkar!

Hey Dr and Serene , Thanks alot for your compliment .. : ) There are still much to learn from all the masters .. hehe ..
Dr another trip meaning no more propeller plane cum the dangerous airport and less walking .. keke ..Mount Chomolangma ... hahaha in my dreams ..

This is a heck of perspective!!!:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Thnx Serene :heart:

Wah, lovely lovely LOVELY 50mm f/1.2!

Haha... so cute!

Agree! It is really a beauty.
In Sherpa language, my private porter would say Liamo Poom ~ which means Pretty Girl!

Thnx WHow :sweatsm:

T R A V E L O G U E

But honestly, I cannot recall what they were saying that resulted in so many of us raising our hands. Do any one of you guys remember?

I remember I remember...7 early 8 early, our Trek Leader already take order for our lunch. I remember I raised my hand for FRIED RICE! haha :D

T R A V E L O G U E

You forgot in army, before we move out, the commander always ask who weren't feeling well? Then those who were not feeling well raised their hands. Maybe don't have to walk, can ride dzopkyo.

I remember I remember...7 early 8 early, our Trek Leader already take order for our lunch. I remember I raised my hand for FRIED RICE! haha :D

Hahaha... So... SereneXMM was correct! She told me just a few minutes ago that Adrian and Melvin were asking for lunch order.
I didn't believe her because I remembered that day's lunch by the time we arrived at the lunch spot, you and vngks and wkcheah and a few more guys have finished your lunch much earlier and were about to move off for the last leg of the trek!
It was really demoralising to have such fast trekkers like you all, and SereneXMM and I could only struggle way way behind...

You forgot in army, before we move out, the commander always ask who weren't feeling well? Then those who were not feeling well raised their hands. Maybe don't have to walk, can ride dzopkyo.

Acpical, actually that looked more like the scenario.
And I almost wanted to raise my hands to ask if I could drop out because you were always a few steps faster than me in front.
You walked so fast, not frightened of slipping and falling meh?
Hehehe...

Hahaha good memory :thumbsup: