Pentax K-x ..worth considering in this age ..?

This is a bad time to sell K-x / K7 but a great time to buy.

If you are thinking of selling now, I'd advising waiting for two months... best to sell in late Jan next year (2011) and you will get a much better price for both these cameras. Reason is that the current flooding will have ceased by then when the new camera euphoria dies down + new K-x / K7 bodies or kits will not be available anymore from the shops.

There is also some serious inside info that Emjay MAY increase the price of both the K5 and the K-r soon. But nothing is final as yet about this... so it may or may not happen. But if it does, then used K-x / K7 prices will climb up again when the current lot of upgraders finish offloading their older cameras in the B&S section in this forum.

Yalah, they bring their price too low for selling liao. It makes the camera unappreciated with that kind of low price. Kx should stay around 600-700 range nia. Not bring down to $400+! its still a great camera but just becoz its called entry-level it has to take the impact of that kind of price. Also bcoz of K5-Kr that some seller cannot wait to sell their old model and get a new one! BBA really sux. hahaha.

Anyways, I'm a Kx user and if u dun mind the missing AF Illuminator and Long Exposure NR(it will turn on after 30 sec) problem then its a great camera. Kx,Kr or K5 just get one of them. K7 can consider.hehe.

riscal : Kx should stay around 600-700 range nia. Not bring down to $400+!

You mean Emjay offer new Kx body for $400+???:what:

2nd hand price lah. If Emjay offer new at $400, BnS selling for $300 or less. :sweat::think:

And then I'll get one as back-up cam...

2nd hand la in BnS :embrass:

i would also like to say my piece here that a lot of people with a lot of money have not considered the negative impact they have on the rest of the community by releasing their items at dirt cheap price.

when this happens, people have a false impression of the price they can get, and given the fact that the market is now flooded with pentax camera bodies, you just get a load of frustrated sellers who can't sell at a reasonable price. compound that to the fact that this is clearly visible, no one would want to buy pentax cameras.

a k10d is going for $350, i really don't think a k20d should go for a mere $150 more than that, but some people think that $400 is a good price to pay. i don't know what to say to that. i really don't mind letting it go at that price, but i do want to think of the consequences of spoiling the market. it's like me running around charging people $5 for a full day wedding shoot with coffee table book (taking it very far, of course)... certainly it is ridiculous, but it will have an effect on the market. what really bothers me is that an excellent camera body is sitting around doing nothing. if i had known that this would be such a problem, i.e. ensuring that the camera is put to good use, i would have retained my k20d, to be honest.

Honestly I don't understand you sentiment. No one is destroying the market with boatloads of second hand cameras. If people expects 400 can buy them k20d but no one is selling that price then no transaction happens. If they want one they have to pay more because the seller thinks that the k20d is more valuable than 400 now. If some people sell theirs on dirt prices then don't antagonize them. They want a quick sell. For them money now is better than money tomorrow.

If you don't like the market price then don't sell. I want to buy some old lenses but I find the price too high so I don't buy. It's as simple as that.

Honestly I don't understand you sentiment. No one is destroying the market with boatloads of second hand cameras. If people expects 400 can buy them k20d but no one is selling that price then no transaction happens. If they want one they have to pay more because the seller thinks that the k20d is more valuable than 400 now. If some people sell theirs on dirt prices then don't antagonize them. They want a quick sell. For them money now is better than money tomorrow.

If you don't like the market price then don't sell. I want to buy some old lenses but I find the price too high so I don't buy. It's as simple as that.

:bsmilie::bsmilie:

Yalah, they bring their price too low for selling liao. It makes the camera unappreciated with that kind of low price. Kx should stay around 600-700 range nia. Not bring down to $400+! its still a great camera but just becoz its called entry-level it has to take the impact of that kind of price. Also bcoz of K5-Kr that some seller cannot wait to sell their old model and get a new one! BBA really sux. hahaha.

The price for new K-x is now around $680, how do you expect second hand to sell at the same price? That's what happen to me, potential buyer never bargain thru SMS, drag me all the way down to Cityhall, claims he doesn't know much about DSLR, didn't even look thru the viewfinder or inspect the camera and started rattling about missing some good bargain for a Canon D500, then drop the ;) hint, he can get for about $600++ for a new K-x. So I indirectly hint;) to him to go get it new! Usual practise of low-baller?

Anyway the best time to sell would be when they stop production on the K-x and agent no longer bring it in I guess, then a higher price can be expected provided the K-r price don't dipped.

it feels that the prices nowadays are just too low. too low enough to give a bad impression on a good camera.

My sincere apologies to those I accidentally 'sabo' by selling my K7 cheap.
I like to see it this way. When I sell my older camera, I am passing on the Pentax virus to someone else :p. Hopefully, these ppl see that this is a good camera brand and buy Pentax stuff and sustain the community here as they start buying Pentax (and hopefully spread the word). This is partly altruistic, partly self serving.

I know very well that I have one pair of hands, and won't use a 2nd camera. Leaving it at home is a waste and means the camera is 'worthless'. I do agree that for a working adult, there is a price point where it will no longer be worth selling (probably around $400-$300). 2-3 weekends out with family easily run up to the cost of $400-$300. At that point, just keep as display or spare (in case of mission critical photo shoots or camera breakdown).

My few cents....

As for low ballers, I really encourage ppl to post and shame as what NM has declared in his K20 BnS post.
IMO, very well said when he says "Don't insult me or the K20D with the low ball price"

My sincere apologies to those I accidentally 'sabo' by selling my K7 cheap.

not really that cheap la, it's a camera body, not a lens.. :)

i think what i'm referring to is a slew of people "pricing" it rather naturally, and then someone just comes along and drops the bomb of $100-$200 less. $20-$50 less than the norm is what i usually do, for the same reasons you have given.

in any case, like you say, for $300-$400, i'd rather keep it as a spare, though i must say that pentax's reliability has never given me any doubt, so i don't really see a need for a spare per se. :)

Same here. Which is why we all wait patiently for Fengwei's dry cab clearing runs every couple of months. :bsmilie:

aiyoh cannot sell continue to use lor...I still using the K-7.:)

think about it... if new k-x is $680+
if second hand selling at $550... it is really hard to sell...
$400-$500 should be easlier i think....

i am looking for $400 k-x body now... haha

The price for new K-x is now around $680, how do you expect second hand to sell at the same price? That's what happen to me, potential buyer never bargain thru SMS, drag me all the way down to Cityhall, claims he doesn't know much about DSLR, didn't even look thru the viewfinder or inspect the camera and started rattling about missing some good bargain for a Canon D500, then drop the ;) hint, he can get for about $600++ for a new K-x. So I indirectly hint;) to him to go get it new! Usual practise of low-baller?

Anyway the best time to sell would be when they stop production on the K-x and agent no longer bring it in I guess, then a higher price can be expected provided the K-r price don't dipped.

My bad, saw the price for kit lens at that price SLRR posted in Facebook. Damn! :bheart:

What to do, Better keep my Kx la like that. haha.

But I kena by Low Ballers and Aeroplane few times till scared liao. haha. They bring down the price till u felt unwanted. :bsmilie:

My bad, saw the price for kit lens at that price SLRR posted in Facebook. Damn! :bheart:

What to do, Better keep my Kx la like that. haha.

But I kena by Low Ballers and Aeroplane few times till scared liao. haha. They bring down the price till u felt unwanted. :bsmilie:

You have to keep faith bro and weed out the low baller, they may be a tad irritating, but a genuine buyer will come along, I manage to sell mine at the price I deem to be reasonable and it's certainly not below $500. Just remember, they play low ball, you play hard ball!;)

I like to see it this way. When I sell my older camera, I am passing on the Pentax virus to someone else :p. Hopefully, these ppl see that this is a good camera brand and buy Pentax stuff and sustain the community here as they start buying Pentax (and hopefully spread the word). This is partly altruistic, partly self serving.

Well said JK.:thumbsup:

I got my k-x this year and met many nice Pentaxian in the community.

Bcos of k-x value for money as compare with other brand and also which i can afford to own it at that moment of time.

Definitely Im not On the low ballers side and I believe there are many nice new comer with the right budget waiting to join the community.:sweat::sweat::sweat:

He is a student Mah, no money coming in yet. Value on body depreciates very fast. Can understand that he wants the latest body being better that the current one he holds and having to top up the difference means a lot to student.:(,who is not generating income thru his gear.

Me, I am passing my Kx to my teenage son. K5:think::think::bsmilie: K10d is still my main body.

marcus