$500 budget can buy what

Some kids play the piano/violin from 3 to 4, so DSLR totally is possible ;)

TS, $500 won't get you a new DSLR. There will be 2nd hand ones within that price.
Otherwise, consider a DSLR style camera (ie. prosumer)

Passion should start at a young age... Dont you agree? :)

i agree but that is in the first place the young boy had the passion first. cos u know boys at that age very hard to settle down and everything will seems fun to them at first but their interest dies off very fast also.

i will shed tears for the poor DSLR if the boy dun have passion, played a while then chuck it one side and let fungus grow.

You said $500 basically cannot buy any Canon DSLR.

I told you that for $500 you can get a 300/350/400/450/10D.

Anything wrong?

89YO senior you also want to bully. Alamak...how to go every shop to ask. Transport nowadays very expensive. I know you will shoot me again to "google" but I don't have 24hr access to a computer so must go over to my neighbour. Ya lah...you win already. So where to buy 350D? I also want to buy one for my grandson. :sweat::sweat::sweat::sweat::sweat:

Some kids play the piano/violin from 3 to 4, so DSLR totally is possible ;)

some are really passionate and are talented from young, some are parents who wants them to learn (kiasu singaporean parents) haha. there is a difference.

photography is different i find. and kids that age got interest very fast and also lose interest almost as fast. (referring to my era) today maybe transformers tomorrow maybe basket or soccer and later move on to pc games.

I think we should not under estimate the kids' capability of the modern era....they are brainier than us when we were 7. And I think there is no harm for a child to start off photography at young age. Even my daughter who is coming to 2 yrs is shooting with the iPhone even though most of the shots are off focus or purely lucky shots. They don't think as much as adults, just shoot and very often they can capture some interesting shots....

Here are my thoughts about children taking up photography. It is a healthy hobby....and who knows he/she can chair the photography club in school....:D

Is this your cousin? ;)

For kids, I would think some form of cheap + shockproof + waterproof PnS will be a good start.

$500 is hard to buy a DSLR kit but what about getting more family members to chip in...Or maybe ask the child to save a bit of pocket money for the camera. A kid's saving may be too little but it is a way to educate the kid on saving and learn how to cherish his gear in the future. A camera is not a "Transformer", so gotta learn how to take good care of it. Learning how to take good care of gears is a good ethics of photography.

89YO senior you also want to bully. Alamak...how to go every shop to ask. Transport nowadays very expensive. I know you will shoot me again to "google" but I don't have 24hr access to a computer so must go over to my neighbour. Ya lah...you win already. So where to buy 350D? I also want to buy one for my grandson. :sweat::sweat::sweat::sweat::sweat:

No,i'm not bullying you.Just letting you know that there are Canon DSLRs under $500.BTW you can call or email shops for a quote and 350D can be bought from B&S/TCW or Ben Photo...

Why not give the cousin a pencil, crayon and paper? It's much better for hand and eye coordination which is much more needed in this kind of age group :thumbsup:

Sketching as far as I know, possesses the exact same things we learn in photography. i.e. framing, color, correct balancing of light and shadows, mood etc... in respect to that, a child could apply those things easily and painlessly.

Why not give the cousin a pencil, crayon and paper? It's much better for hand and eye coordination which is much more needed in this kind of age group :thumbsup:

Don't understand why it has to be DSLR in the first place. If I were 7 again though, I'd probably go for the piano instead of reaching out to a camera. :bsmilie:

Originally Posted by hotwork77
89YO senior you also want to bully. Alamak...how to go every shop to ask. Transport nowadays very expensive. I know you will shoot me again to "google" but I don't have 24hr access to a computer so must go over to my neighbour. Ya lah...you win already. So where to buy 350D? I also want to buy one for my grandson.
No,i'm not bullying you.Just letting you know that there are Canon DSLRs under $500.BTW you can call or email shops for a quote and 350D can be bought from B&S/TCW or Ben Photo..

Ya... on & off i see there is 350d selling in B&S , and with grip too if lucky..

The 7-year-old cousin must be a genius to know how to operate a DSLR :bigeyes:

You will be surprised with kid today.
He beg me to use my 50d to take picture.
Mount with len like 17-55 f/2.8 or 10-20 f/3.5 + external flash !
Worried that he might just drop it :sweat:

He is really keep with taking picture, so i got this great idea ;p

I want him to start with dslr (he already got a compact),
so that i can share cheap len with him as well.
i got a spare light 18-55 so just used body will do.

No issue for a kid at the age of 7 to learn photography . . . the issue is having a tight budget of $500 . . . as what the rest suggested to get others to chip in a little more and get an entry level DSLR . . .

If he lost interest, it will be your backup camera then . . .

Oh, don't forget to get a dry cabinet for him as well. Hmmm, he may wish to put his transformers inside to prevent fungus as well. :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

last month cathay photo has a student promotion whereby a brand new Sony A230 + 18-55mm lens + 8GB memory card + DSLR bag + Sony DSLR course for $499.

Not sure if the promotion is still on, you can call cathay photo and check.

If the promotion is over, u might wanna check out MS colour or SLR revolution. I think their non promotional price should be around $549 (dont quote me on this though, pls call them urself)

I strongly support a kid to learn photography as there are many benefits in learning. The only downside is the COST $$$...I have kept my film SLR for my kid and hopefully she will revive it some day.

I believe many people will find it not justifiable for a kid to own a $1000+ camera because it may turn into a $1000+ toy. Just have to educate the kid well in appreciating photography and the gears. As what many people have said "There is no bad equipments, only bad photographers..."

Probably someday your cousin will probably outshine many of us in CS. Many people who post in CS are not photographers....they just talk so much but no photos....

Oh, don't forget to get a dry cabinet for him as well. Hmmm, he may wish to put his transformers inside to prevent fungus as well.

Bumble Bee: See what you have done to me for not keeping me in the dry cabinet. The Decepticons Fungus has damaged by gears and I cannot transform back to a car.....I am late to fetch Megan Fox....

:bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

last month cathay photo has a student promotion whereby a brand new Sony A230 + 18-55mm lens + 8GB memory card + DSLR bag + Sony DSLR course for $499.

Not sure if the promotion is still on, you can call cathay photo and check.

If the promotion is over, u might wanna check out MS colour or SLR revolution. I think their non promotional price should be around $549 (dont quote me on this though, pls call them urself)

Thats good deal.....looks like the brands are working hard to promote photography for the young age.:thumbsup: OR indirectly asking Parents to spend???:sweat: