Sirui tripod - 4 or 5 sections

just curious... TS, what kind of shots do you intend to take with D300s (gripped) coupled with 70-200/2.8 mounted on tripod?

I would not use it often but I want it to be able to. But realistically, I would only use it on landscape shots that require the compression of 200mm.

Every year I see people getting more and more kiasu about the max weight. It used to be 50% more... 12kg listed max, 8kg real max. Then it became 100%, 12kg listed, 6kg real max. And now I see 12kg listed max, 4 kg real max....

At the rate we are going, everyone is going to need schatler legs, and kangrinpoche or markins head, even for entry level DSLR and kit lens.

Haha, not me hor... maybe it's the salemen who are propagating the max load trend! Max load divide by 3 was an advice from them (or at least from Philip)... Divide by 3 is because weight load shared between 3 legs...

Btw, I didn't get the current tripod just to suit what I have now - the plan was to get prepared for a heavier (over 1 kg) lens in the future. Hence, the recommendation for a 15kg max load (div by 3 of course)...whether I was suckered in or not - I have NO idea... :bsmilie: It also includes the probable possibility of moving up to FF in the future.

Kiasu or not, I'm hoping that the excess weight load handling can offset much of the vibration caused by wind/shake/mirror slap, etc.

Basically I've moved on from looking at tripods and ballheads like crazy over the last few weeks... I'm a happy camper now, knowing that I've gotten the best tripod/ballhead setup my limited funds can buy... Now I'm aiming purely at other effects - filters and LENSES!!! Muahahaha....

Wimberley bro? BBB!! :devil:

Err... wimberly plamp i have.. tripod? i passs... :sweatsm:

Yup.. i have pretty much given up on the T-1005X. Going for T-1004X myself, for a travel tripod. I will still use my 3 section Manfrotto for landscape shoots in singapore though. Served me well, and has many years left in it.

:thumbsup: to ur manfrotto..

Actually i m also eyeing a Sirul tripod (that can go under water):devil:

Bro, get the ocean proof Gitzo... mai tu liao. Get a sirui sticker and stick over the gitzo brand when you bring it home and show the CFO. :bsmilie:

bro, get the ocean proof gitzo... Mai tu liao. Get a sirui sticker and stick over the gitzo brand when you bring it home and show the cfo. :bsmilie:

bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

BTW, I lazy, prefer light weight so

2205X and 1541T haha, to me good enough

Haha, not me hor... maybe it's the salemen who are propagating the max load trend! Max load divide by 3 was an advice from them (or at least from Philip)... Divide by 3 is because weight load shared between 3 legs...

Btw, I didn't get the current tripod just to suit what I have now - the plan was to get prepared for a heavier (over 1 kg) lens in the future. Hence, the recommendation for a 15kg max load (div by 3 of course)...whether I was suckered in or not - I have NO idea... :bsmilie: It also includes the probable possibility of moving up to FF in the future.

Kiasu or not, I'm hoping that the excess weight load handling can offset much of the vibration caused by wind/shake/mirror slap, etc.

Basically I've moved on from looking at tripods and ballheads like crazy over the last few weeks... I'm a happy camper now, knowing that I've gotten the best tripod/ballhead setup my limited funds can buy... Now I'm aiming purely at other effects - filters and LENSES!!! Muahahaha....

Actually the max load is for the entire tripod (for all 3 legs included). I don't know how that divide by 3 rule factors in. Funny.

No matter. You have a very good setup already, much better than what I started with... actually much better than what I have now even. Time to work your equipment and start producing those wonderful pictures! :thumbsup:

My advice. Start shooting now... buy slowly.. dun kan jeong....

Bro, get the ocean proof Gitzo... mai tu liao. Get a sirui sticker and stick over the gitzo brand when you bring it home and show the CFO. :bsmilie:

Ha ha ha :bsmilie:
But the Gitzo is casted on the leg stops.

Actually the max load is for the entire tripod (for all 3 legs included). I don't know how that divide by 3 rule factors in. Funny.

No matter. You have a very good setup already, much better than what I started with... actually much better than what I have now even. Time to work your equipment and start producing those wonderful pictures! :thumbsup:

My advice. Start shooting now... buy slowly.. dun kan jeong....

I don't know about the division logic (it was just casually highlighted to me after I've decided on which model - to be certain that it will support future heavy weights), but I certainly didn't consider that as the main criteria for buying the pods - my primary concerns were more of (not in any given order):
1) sturdiness
2) height (I'm not keen on getting a hunchback)
3) vibration management
4) weight - don't want too light, nor over heavy
5) and the monopod advantage
6) more than able to handle expected and current load

I don't think mine is better than yours - I just think I've found the right one for myself (even though it doesn't have the horizontal extension for macro) - so your pods definitely have an edge over mine. But it is definitely not about comparisons - and yes, I've started using it the minute it left the shop... Even made full use of it during the Garden show on sunday! :sweat: Can't wait to shoot more butterflies.

As for BBB... don't worry I'm not rich - so it can't be rushed no matter how kang cheong I can be (do I really sound like I am?? lol!). The most ex lens may take 1 to 3 years to realise! For the time being I can only be contented with shorter focal lengths... and a more urgent search for the UWA (realised I missed out a lot of fireworks opportunities).

If you really want to know, the current BBB decision was juggled between a reasonably good f/2.8 lens and the tripod/ballhead setup... Obviously I went for the latter.

But given that TS is considering what kind of tripod to get shows that he understands the importance of the tripod/ballhead. Nevermind if the purchase is an overkill, just as long as it does more than it is supposed to handle.

May i know how much does a T-2204X cost? I am also thinking an affordable one. Thanks!

Err... wimberly plamp i have.. tripod? i passs... :sweatsm:

Wimberly got tripod meh? I think they oso recommend Gitzo which what you are using now! :devil:

BTW my Sirui is 5 sections. I using T1205X no problem I need it as compact as possible.

Wimberly got tripod meh? I think they oso recommend Gitzo which what you are using now! :devil:

BTW my Sirui is 5 sections. I using T1205X no problem I need it as compact as possible.

Also using 5 sections 2205 , no problem so far .... prefer the compactness too ..

Sorry for asking, does a good ballhead makes a real difference?

If yes, what kind of difference are we looking at? Im totally new to tripod and am thinking to get a light one for travelling.

Sorry for asking, does a good ballhead makes a real difference?

If yes, what kind of difference are we looking at? Im totally new to tripod and am thinking to get a light one for travelling.

oh definitely it does make a diff...

usually expensive ballhead use lighter material.

oh definitely it does make a diff...

usually expensive ballhead use lighter material.

So can i assume that the weight is the main difference? In this case the difference in weight must be really great. I was searching around and some tripods have no ballheads, using those plates i guess. Kind of confuse me. :confused:

depending how much u really wanna invest in your hobby.

Currently Best future proof ballhead are using Arcaswiss type plate. If you looking for something compact and willing to spend up to $400, u can try Markins Q3T with good performance.

Heard that Photoclam (can try XX33XX, something like this) produce good ballhead as well, of cuz Markins are more reliable, consider this is you are on Budget.

FYI good arcaswiss plate are not cheap too... eg. Wimberly universal camera plate cost ard SGD100 now at cathay photo

Bro, thinking of adding another Sirui CF into my collection (for lightweight travelling)

Eyeing the one u bought when i was there.. What model ah? :devil:

Retiring my My T-1004 for low waters and seascape shots

Bro, thinking of adding another Sirui CF into my collection (for lightweight travelling)

Eyeing the one u bought when i was there.. What model ah? :devil:

Retiring my My T-1004 for low waters and seascape shots

haha... I got T1205X 5 Sections....

this tripod is my lightweight travel solution...

weight and compactness is the top priority

BTW I have influenced 2 of my mate to get the same tripod and they are please with it. r u the 3rd one???? :D

haha... I got T1205X 5 Sections....

this tripod is my lightweight travel solution...

weight and compactness is the top priority

BTW I have influenced 2 of my mate to get the same tripod and they are please with it. r u the 3rd one???? :D

The probability are beri beri high... :sweat: :bsmilie: