ac copper pipe insulation

fz30_user

May 5, 2006

as per subject.. anyone know where to buy those insulation? i just need 1 metre in length to patch up the broken part near my ac condenser (outdoor unit). i tried the local hardware/diy shop but don't have eh.

thanks.

Look for Hareware shops inside Industry estate. Most of them have. Those HDB hardware shops dont sell lah. Very cheap only, less than $10 for a standard 2 metre length.

I may have some spare. What size is yours?

iirc, they are not sold to walk-in customers. its normally foam tubings.

some cheap gym matts are of similiar density. maybe that will work? some better installers have an additional layer of aluminium foil over the foam tubings.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

i just remembered i oso got 1 to spare, on it [6x19 (3/4" ID)].

Try to look for this company. Surely can find there. Just need to know the diameter of your tubing. Material is Armaflex.

North East Refrigeration Parts.. 35 Ubi Crescent

Material is Armaflex.

Lol, that's a hilarious name:bsmilie:

When i was reading it and trying to pronounce it in my head.....

I got this....."Ah-Ma-Flex":bsmilie:

mine is another brand Carmacell its black in colour. which brand is betta?... :dunno:

if you stay or work near Balestier/Lavender St area, there is one called Far East Refrigeration, which sells lots of insulation foam.
I think theirs is branded Insulflex.
If you select the right tube diameter, it fits just nicely!

the stuff comes in different brand names, e.g. Armaflex, Insulflex, etc. they all work the same. it's closed cell insulation foam, comes in tubular form with different inner diameter and wall thickness (typical thickness is 25 or 50mm) 25mm is adequate for most domestic applications. you can also buy them in sheets to wrap those large or odd shaped pieces.

make sure you select insulation with the right diameter otherwise you'll end up with an air gap between the tube and the insulation. this will cause condensation to form on the pipe which will fill the gap and eventually rot your insulation. also if you are installing this thing outside, UV rays will break down the foam eventually, so place a cover over them to protect them from sunlight.

if you only need a small piece, ask a ref shop if they could give you some off cuts.