6 months China Trip

Before all the Olyumpics thing, Singapore passport into China, no need VISA IIRC. Multiple entries applies for PR, which I did for my boss. It just means from SIN to China. Not China - China. So one trip to CHINA means SINGLE TRIP.

I did more than 14days a couple of times and hop from city to city. Not sure it has changed though.

Good to check, especially with the messy immigration rules by them.

Even the APEC card dont work now =(

Wah, I think better should go and asked the embassy 1st. So many different experiences on the VISA.

You mean SGD$100,000 or RMB$100,000? Even RMB$100,000 is also a lot.

Well..they are some money you have to pay along the way to make your trip "smoother" this was sometime ago.(paying officials at time) Anyway he is working there now. His family have some business dealings...but he just want to go "walk-above" including all the tibetan areas and some borderline towns near Russia, Mongolian....etc. And where he felt like it, he wanted to live in fairly comfortable condition or hire guides. Thus...the SDG$100,000. heheh... not RMB.

Well..they are some money you have to pay along the way to make your trip "smoother" this was sometime ago. Anyway he is working there now. His family have some business dealings...but he just want to go "walk-above" including all the tibetan areas and some borderline towns near Russia, Mongolian....etc. And where he felt like it, he wanted to live in fairly comfortable condition or hire guides. Thus...the SDG$100,000. heheh... not RMB.

Wah, seems more like luxurious holiday. I thought it was backpack:bsmilie:

To him it was heheheh....he did have a backpack with him heh.. He was travelling about more then 6 months but less then a year. Now he good life in China ...co-own a nightclub in Shanghai if I recall the correctly...and guess who gets to "interview" the hostesses *roll eyes* Lucky SOB. Some people have all the luck! hehe

He migrated to China? Think the $100,000 is worthwhile, just for the contacts he made along.

May I know what to look out for during this kind of long trip? I did read some travel guide. But think it will be better to hear from someone who has 1st hand experience.

I have a lonely planet for China. If u want, i can pass it to you for your trip :)

No one spend 6 months or more travelling in China?

You need a porter??? hahahahha:bsmilie:

Before all the Olyumpics thing, Singapore passport into China, no need VISA IIRC. Multiple entries applies for PR, which I did for my boss. It just means from SIN to China. Not China - China. So one trip to CHINA means SINGLE TRIP.

I did more than 14days a couple of times and hop from city to city. Not sure it has changed though.

Good to check, especially with the messy immigration rules by them.

Even the APEC card dont work now =(

I am not sure about PR, but i know singapore do have the privilege of that 14 days thing, that's how singaporean use this as a loop hole for those who working around shenzhen or guangzhou.

WOW, you did a few times exceed more than 14days???? Better dont ah, not everytime is so lucky lor...... i heard lot of this kind of cases ah, will kana FINE BIG BIG time one ah!

Dont mess with their messy immigration rules lor :sweat:

Not too sure leh, they allow that time wor. But before all the 5rings mess la. let's see how it goes for him XD

He migrated to China? Think the $100,000 is worthwhile, just for the contacts he made along.

Silver spoon...very drama and showy lah...that was how I got to know how much he put aside for his China gig. So who know maybe from your trip there you find some kinda niche for yourself too.

There will be some hassle that is for sure. My company we have office in China and Hong Kong and I know how bad and good it can get in those parts we are trying to penetrate our business. Getting extended stay will be something to look at regularily as some have mentioned here..it can change! Some time a bit of money smooth the way and sometime it does not.

Silver spoon...very drama and showy lah...that was how I got to know how much he put aside for his China gig. So who know maybe from your trip there you find some kinda niche for yourself too.

There will be some hassle that is for sure. My company we have office in China and Hong Kong and I know how bad and good it can get in those parts we are trying to penetrate our business. Getting extended stay will be something to look at regularily as some have mentioned here..it can change! Some time a bit of money smooth the way and sometime it does not.

Actually my bro say I might be able to establish my contacts with the people there via some of my mum's friend introduction:bsmilie:

Even so...you still should never lower your guard in dealing with people in China. There are alot more opportunist then real friends. That is not to say they are bad but where money is concern....nothing is sacred in China. It is like almost acceptable that money is the only motivation for being your friend or doing business. But it also mean if tomorrow someone offer them something better, they just skip away so fast your head feels like you got a whip lash. Some cities not so bad and in other...well just watch yourself.

That is the one thing my company branch STILL keep learning when dealing with chinese staff. You can't blame them in a way. Too closed fromt he world for too long and when they door open up...there are too gung ho with making money or thinking up ways to make money.

It goes without saying still that even among the friendliest and apparently more honest looking you meet there...never ever flash your money about.

My parents have been telling me not to stay in those budget hostel or hotel as they think it is dangerous.:dunno:

:nono: China is not as what your parents thought la, but cant deny that their some bad apple in the basket. And i believe it happens anywhere. It really depend on individual luck when traveling, it will happen if it meant to be.

Don't be flashy and things will go alot better 99% of the time.

This rule apply anywhere anytime leh, and also need to be street smart la.

Try to let your family or friends know where you are and where you are going. Whenever you can.

Even so...you still should never lower your guard in dealing with people in China. There are alot more opportunist then real friends. That is not to say they are bad but where money is concern....nothing is sacred in China. It is like almost acceptable that money is the only motivation for being your friend or doing business. But it also mean if tomorrow someone offer them something better, they just skip away so fast your head feels like you got a whip lash. Some cities not so bad and in other...well just watch yourself.

That is the one thing my company branch STILL keep learning when dealing with chinese staff. You can't blame them in a way. Too closed fromt he world for too long and when they door open up...there are too gung ho with making money or thinking up ways to make money.

It goes without saying still that even among the friendliest and apparently more honest looking you meet there...never ever flash your money about.

You mean dealing with normal people or my mum's good friends and relatives there?:)