Prevent MOULDY leather sofa and wooden furnitures ?

AhV

Jun 10, 2004
Northland
literally,do u guys face the same frustration as I do ?

I have been 'arrowed' by my better half to look for a solution.... the sad truth is the MOULD kept coming back despite cleaning/ brushing them away with a cloth :sweat:

Any other tested preventive measures ? .... or settle for FABRIC sofas and metallic furnitures :bsmilie: ?

I have been 'arrowed' by my better half to look for a solution.... the sad truth is the MOULD kept coming back despite cleaning/ brushing them away with a cloth :sweat:

Any other tested preventive measures ? .... or settle for FABRIC sofas and metallic furnitures :bsmilie: ?

keep ur place as dry as possible so the mold have no moisture to draw from.

eh, the mould is on the leather & the wood?

for leather, if mould keep resurfacing. stop using any conditioner or cleaner, cream or liquid type. was the leather showing signs of crackling/ flaking before that?

how old is the furniture? a close-up pic would be good. is the problem area at certain spots or everywhere?

for the wood, wad is it finished in? lacquer, varnish, oiled or non at all? cos if lacquered or varnished wood very rare got mould the finishes itself should already repel moisture. unless the problem is the wood itself- not properly kilned.

dun let 1 bad experience keep u away from good leather & wood furniture.

For leather, use mink oil. Can find in any DIY shop. If possible, bring it out into the sun, and make sure to properly clean the area where the sofa was with Lysol. If all you did was wipe it with a moist cloth, you only spread the fungus further, and any furniture you wiped with that cloth would be infected too (unless you wash the cloth with bleach).

Do a google search for "kill mold on leather wood" to get more results.

hmmm.... i just moved to a new place.... all furnitures new de lei :sweat:

thats y I find it frustrating ....... they are new stuff..and my place ventilation not bad ... leather is still in pristine condition..no kids in the house.. so damage not done yet

was any painting works done for ur new abode? :think:

yes... but that was before any of these new furniture 'moved in' ... does that matter ? :sweat:

For leather, use mink oil. Can find in any DIY shop. If possible, bring it out into the sun, and make sure to properly clean the area where the sofa was with Lysol. If all you did was wipe it with a moist cloth, you only spread the fungus further, and any furniture you wiped with that cloth would be infected too (unless you wash the cloth with bleach).

Do a google search for "kill mold on leather wood" to get more results.

%#$%#$...... I think I have spreaded the mould :sweat:.. i always thot if i keep my items dry and ventilated..... u noe like dry cabinets for our cameras ..i will be fine ...:confused:

yes... but that was before any of these new furniture 'moved in' ... does that matter ? :sweat:

maybe, cos painting whole house will result in alot of moisture being released when paint is drying. it happened when i just shifted & my speakers got mouldy too. looks like u may need lots of 'thirstyhippos' at the moment to balance the moisture levels. :sweatsm:

hi Rashkae, mink oil may not be suitable for most sofas. depends on wad type of leather. it'll make most sofas too oily to sit on, IMPO. most full grained leathers can take those 3-in-1 leather kits for cars. i using Meguiars' cream cleaner/conditioner for my leather sofa.

mink oil works very well for polishing shoes that lost the gloss. but that again does not work on all leather.

yeah.... my speakers too... now that u mentioned

my feature wall still looks fine ... its only the movable furnitures that are experiencing it

ur feature wall is painted wan? when whole hosuse is painted moisture will cause most leather & MDF wood to grow mould. for now just have to up maintainance to keep mould at bay. most cases for new home, it'll be 3-4 weeks before situation stablizes (no more moisture issue).

for the cleaner/conditioner i mentioned, most brands need most 2 application a year for new sofa. step 1, apply freely, abit more ok wan, step 2 use 'orange' cloth (the wan for SAF boots can liao) to wipe off excess. if u wan use real leather chamois oso can, but costs more.

I have good experience washing my wood furniture with high concentration of bleach........

When I was in HK I bought some cheap book shelves there, and when I left in summertime for 3 weeks, it got a mould layer, really a layer of about 1 cm! All over the back surface of the book shelf that had this thin wood plank. Also the sides of the shelf which was exposed and not painted. What I did was to wash it all away with high concentration of bleach an dmade sure it was abosorb enough by the wood.............mould never came back.

And ventilation of the room does help alot too!

The humidity in HK in summer is about 80% which is the optimal humidity for fungus to grow, in Singapore usually it is 90% and higher, grows much less......

HS

wow..seems like BLEACH is the way to go :bigeyes:

but..but..but... can some1 pls define 'wash' ? how do you 'wash' your furnitures ? be it a LEATHER SOFA or some neat piece of expensive wooden furniture ? WASH sounds thorough :sweat:

any more household tips ?

super uber giant sized dry-cabi ;p;)

on a more serious note, how about varnishing the wooden furniture?

wow..seems like BLEACH is the way to go :bigeyes:

but..but..but... can some1 pls define 'wash' ? how do you 'wash' your furnitures ? be it a LEATHER SOFA or some neat piece of expensive wooden furniture ? WASH sounds thorough :sweat:

dunno about washing furniture, not even all-weather timber 1s. all plastic furniture can la, plastic chairs, all glass coffee table. can try washing ur speakers for a start! :bsmilie:

the mould problem so serious arh? :sweat:

buy a novita dehumidifier.

no matter how many times you wipe, as long as its damp, anything will grow

i tend to agree... no matter how many times we wiped.. they kept coming back ... these are what i call "DIE HARD FANS" :bsmilie:

went shopping just now ...... lots stuff on conditioning your leather , polish your wooden furniture ... blah blah....NTH... and I mean NTH on MOLD remover or prevention :sweat:

eh, how long since u moved in? if there were a few days of heavy rain + hours windows were closed cos left for work, den home may not have enough hours of ventilation. u may like to ask neighbours if they oso got same problem. :)

the problem is that some mould problem is with the moisture at home, oni cartons of Thirsty Hippo or electric dehumidifier will work.

did u use a wet cloth for wiping? :sweat:

wet cloth ? damp cloth i used... have to ...as the mold tend to get 'flaky/dusty' during each swipe :sweat: ... din want it to spread all over my new home ... i was careful .using those super absorbent cloths :sweat:

Ironical i know bcos mold loves water ! damn..its so hard to handle such thingy ... and i went to kaypoh to look at my other wooden furnitures in other rooms... they are infected with MOLD too .... :( .... again, new wooden furniture

On a side note, can u imagine if our dry cabinets were made of wood ? :bsmilie:

ooh, thatz terrible. sounds like the custom furnitures were built before the paint was thoroughly dry too. dry cabi got warranty wan le, maybe u will need to call ur contractor liao.

its 1 of the nightmares of doing major home renovation.

was joking about damp/wet cloth used for wiping, totally dry cloth how to wipe. :bsmilie: but maybe u should use hair dryer (warm air setting) to speed up the drying?