Home Theatre Set up for a HDB living room

Will try not to kena extra BBB Virus :sweat:

So bro, you actually safe more money on photography then spending on HiFi? ;p

equally bad:cry:

You have your listening taste. Others have theirs. Go with your own feeling and bring your favourite DVDs to test.

I'll recommend Pioneer/ yamaha / denon. The rest... i won't touch. Seriously.

Please don't bother with BOSE. I listen to my uncle's $8K bose, i wanted to laugh.
Heck, it can't even handle stereo well.

Please don't bother with computer speaker systems...
i think he didn't have his system tuned properly. some ppl like to turnt he mids and bass up so high and play the highs down to get the 'boom boom' effect.

.....$1500 is just the appetiser.....some subwoofer, centre speaker already cost more than that:bsmilie:
i got an active sub at home and it costs $900 liao.. ever since my HDB upgrading renovation, i haven't hooked my system back. now only have 1 amp, 2 speakers.. :bsmilie: all the surround, sub and what not under the living room sofa collecting dust.

i think he didn't have his system tuned properly. some ppl like to turnt he mids and bass up so high and play the highs down to get the 'boom boom' effect.

Not sure ... but its not the "boom boom" effect. His was rather an "unlively" system. sounds too flat already :rolleyes: ..he demoed a movie .. the explosions and effect were utterly - lack of a better word - disappointing.

i got an active sub at home and it costs $900 liao.. ever since my HDB upgrading renovation, i haven't hooked my system back. now only have 1 amp, 2 speakers.. :bsmilie: all the surround, sub and what not under the living room sofa collecting dust.

Don't remind me .. i just got poisoned by a demo @ the distributors for Earthquake subs :sweat:

Not sure ... but its not the "boom boom" effect. His was rather an "unlively" system. sounds too flat already :rolleyes: ..he demoed a movie .. the explosions and effect were utterly - lack of a better word - disappointing.

yah.. very likely to be poor speaker placement and incorrect tuning. ;p come come ask him to invest in a set of RTA :devil: then you can borrow to tune your system also :devil:

In january, i bought a samsung mosel f7 and they gave their home theatre system with surround sound, free. If you were to buy it, it would cost $899 i think. It's good and aestically pleasing too.

Just checked at Best Denki, all the amplifier with HDMI are so ex :bigeyes:

May be have to skip that or wait for price to drop :sweat:.

My sub alone already cost me $800 and its only a entry level model nia. Try REL Acoustics subs. Excellent! Can handle movies' rumbling bass and music's faster thumping bass.

Bro, just go one round at KEC Sound system at Aldephi level one....you sure won't come out empty handed.....provided they are still around....they use to have website...but somehow I can't google :)

I have a yamaha YSP 800. to me when it come to movie it's good enuf for me, and IMO better than my last set up of marantz 4400 and 6 satelite speakers. it's surround is more immersive. however musical performance sux. :p

But it really save me space, make my room real neat with no cables running aorund etc. And also less headach.

Bro, just go one round at KEC Sound system at Aldephi level one....you sure won't come out empty handed.....provided they are still around....they use to have website...but somehow I can't google :)
I think I went there, but say S$1500 budget is too low for a proper set up, end up diverted to another shop :sweat:

The other shop recommend me:
Onkyo
Speakers: SKF 3600 (front), SKS 3600 (centre + surround)
Sub woofer: Rogers ASB-100
Marantz SR3001
Marantz DV-4600
All for S$1380, but I don't know worth it or not :sweat:

My sub alone already cost me $800 and its only a entry level model nia. Try REL Acoustics subs. Excellent! Can handle movies' rumbling bass and music's faster thumping bass.

:bsmilie: ... Don't start about subs ... I sense the SVS owners are lurking here... :bsmilie:

And yes i own a SVS ... just got poisoned by Earthquake's performance though :sweat:

I have a yamaha YSP 800. to me when it come to movie it's good enuf for me, and IMO better than my last set up of marantz 4400 and 6 satelite speakers. it's surround is more immersive. however musical performance sux. :p

But it really save me space, make my room real neat with no cables running aorund etc. And also less headach.

Depends on each person's taste.

I have a Yamaha AV amp for my living room setup and a Marantz 4300 (2nd hand) for my room .. hooked up to my PC. The marantz is very musical. That's why people buy it. The yamaha, is more suited towards movies as they use their own proprietary DSP chip - which is a cut above the rest.

I think I went there, but say S$1500 budget is too low for a proper set up, end up diverted to another shop :sweat:

The other shop recommend me:
Onkyo
Speakers: SKF 3600 (front), SKS 3600 (centre + surround)
Sub woofer: Rogers ASB-100
Marantz SR3001
Marantz DV-4600
All for S$1380, but I don't know worth it or not :sweat:

Go 2nd hand ... if you know your equipment. I'm running 2nd hand components also.

I'd advise not to buy the above mentioned system. The reason why people sell same brand/model speaker systems is due to timbre matching for main/centre/rear. You can really tell when a scene froma movie pans around you. 1 example would be the Klipsch quintet system.

Go 2nd hand ... if you know your equipment. I'm running 2nd hand components also.

I'd advise not to buy the above mentioned system. The reason why people sell same brand/model speaker systems is due to timbre matching for main/centre/rear. You can really tell when a scene froma movie pans around you. 1 example would be the Klipsch quintet system.
The problem now I facing is I don't know the equipment (history/reputation etc, those need experience).

So Bro if you spot any reasonable good set within my budget, please let me know. Much appreciated.

the more you know.. the deeper the poison
just buy a pioneer setup and be contended with it :bsmilie:

Am using Samsung N7 series LCD TV and with a matching sound system, samsung HT-XQ100 home-theatre-in-a-box. About $2300. Simple and sound good to me.

The home theatre system is quite neat.. you can connect your ext harddisk to the usb port and view all your photos on the LCD TV as slide show without having to use a PC.

the more you know.. the deeper the poison
just buy a pioneer setup and be contended with it :bsmilie:

ShHhhhhhh .... :bsmilie:

Curiosity kill the cat :sweat: :devil:

Seriously - go check out the pioneer / yamaha - HTiBs ... good enough. The more you know the more :sweat: