Window security Patch Problem


Status
Not open for further replies.

scanner

Senior Member
Jan 24, 2002
1,608
0
0
Visit site
#1
Hi all,
I'm having problem in trying to patch up window 2003 server.
The current server OS I'm working on is the Korean version of window 2003.
I've tried to patch up the window with the English and the Korean version, but neither versions worked.

I've keep receiving this Error message "Setup cannot update your window Server 2003 files because the language installed on your system is different from the update language."

Any idea how to solve this problem? :dunno:

Thanks in advance/
 

dominator

Senior Member
Mar 7, 2005
1,662
0
0
11
Amazon Forest
#3
Yup call up microsoft unless you using *ahem
but imo no need to patch anything if everything is fine on your pc.
patching is non-stop...there will always be new problem coming out.
 

jbma

Senior Member
Dec 28, 2003
3,287
0
0
Tampines
#4
Forget about the patch unless you really need it. There will be new problems with the patch.
 

scanner

Senior Member
Jan 24, 2002
1,608
0
0
Visit site
#5
dominator said:
Yup call up microsoft unless you using *ahem
but imo no need to patch anything if everything is fine on your pc.
patching is non-stop...there will always be new problem coming out.
Its a licensed copy for business usage.
You have to patch the security loop hole if you don't wished to be infected with virus especially thsoe boot virus that attack your sever.
 

dominator

Senior Member
Mar 7, 2005
1,662
0
0
11
Amazon Forest
#7
Drudkh said:
call Bill Gates and scold him. :p
When Bill Gates solve a problem somebody will try to create another problem to challenge him! It's forever...non-stop!
 

leeter

Senior Member
May 1, 2004
1,936
0
36
#10
Theory i use in PC--> Don't fix it unless it's broken.

But sercurity patches, gotta read see if it will affect you anot.
 

ST_sg

New Member
Mar 23, 2004
1,654
0
0
sunnytang.zenfolio.com
#11
scanner said:
Its a licensed copy for business usage.
You have to patch the security loop hole if you don't wished to be infected with virus especially thsoe boot virus that attack your sever.
install a desktop/personal firewall, antivirus & ad-aware with latest def update, your system should be safe from various threats and attacks.

Hence patching is not necessary :)
 

scanner

Senior Member
Jan 24, 2002
1,608
0
0
Visit site
#12
ST_sg said:
install a desktop/personal firewall, antivirus & ad-aware with latest def update, your system should be safe from various threats and attacks.

Hence patching is not necessary :)
Thanks, I know what you mean, but as the server is using some dedicated applicatons that required no firewall to be installed between networks, there is no way, I can place a firewall on the server machine.

As for the antiviruse, yes it is installed but the flaw is due to OS designed flawed, the server is still susceptible to virus attack under the very eyes of the anti virus software.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom