Will you be upgrading to Window Vista?


Status
Not open for further replies.

yeocolin

New Member
May 2, 2003
816
0
0
39
Singapore
www.flickr.com
#1
Window Vista launched yesterday in many countries and will be launced today, 31 Jan, in Singapore. There's a fair bit of talk in Cnet and feedback from the editors is that its just an expensive service pack of Windows XP for Vista home and basic edition cos in these 2 editions, the additional security promised by Vista is absent.

Personally, I'm not upgrading to Vista cos I don't see the need. How about you guys? Upgrading?
 

1Ds

Senior Member
Jan 4, 2003
678
1
18
54
Visit site
#3
Window Vista launched yesterday in many countries and will be launced today, 31 Jan, in Singapore. There's a fair bit of talk in Cnet and feedback from the editors is that its just an expensive service pack of Windows XP for Vista home and basic edition cos in these 2 editions, the additional security promised by Vista is absent.

Personally, I'm not upgrading to Vista cos I don't see the need. How about you guys? Upgrading?

Yes I will:)
 

Klose

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2005
2,619
0
0
#4
After being a beta tester on it, I will say why not. However, why bother. I love apple :lovegrin:
 

GriGri

New Member
Mar 27, 2005
1,906
0
0
NTU
#5
Not now. Probably after SP1 is released later this year, when Vista look more like a proper operation system.
 

#6
In principle, I wouldn't.
The DRM restrictions on the Vista are just awful and restricting DX10 to Vista is just wrong.
The idea that people will be forced to upgrade if they want to play future games is a little ludicrous.

I'll be sticking to XP for awhile yet.
Thinking about getting a Mac for the next system.
 

GriGri

New Member
Mar 27, 2005
1,906
0
0
NTU
#7
In principle, I wouldn't.
The DRM restrictions on the Vista are just awful and restricting DX10 to Vista is just wrong.
The idea that people will be forced to upgrade if they want to play future games is a little ludicrous.

I'll be sticking to XP for awhile yet.
Thinking about getting a Mac for the next system.
Does Need For Speed Carbon support Mac? :bsmilie:
 

#8
Window Vista launched yesterday in many countries and will be launced today, 31 Jan, in Singapore. There's a fair bit of talk in Cnet and feedback from the editors is that its just an expensive service pack of Windows XP for Vista home and basic edition cos in these 2 editions, the additional security promised by Vista is absent.

Personally, I'm not upgrading to Vista cos I don't see the need. How about you guys? Upgrading?
Hi colin,

Being a long time. :)

I will stay put till the SP2 or something like that come up. ;p


Cheers
 

germ_boi

New Member
Oct 3, 2003
856
0
0
30
Sedna, Orion Stars
Visit site
#9
Definitely not.

Mircrosoft has truely shown its lack of creativity by copying Mac, so when Leopard comes out this year, I can expect even more groundbreaking innovations.

Why get constraint by Windows lack of creativity and user friendliness and head for the best ever? Leopard and Mac gets my vote I say. It's really not expensive too, as compared to Windows.

I would say the prices are competitive.
 

nightpiper

Senior Member
Oct 20, 2003
2,152
0
0
#10
Definitely not.

Mircrosoft has truely shown its lack of creativity by copying Mac, so when Leopard comes out this year, I can expect even more groundbreaking innovations.

Why get constraint by Windows lack of creativity and user friendliness and head for the best ever? Leopard and Mac gets my vote I say. It's really not expensive too, as compared to Windows.

I would say the prices are competitive.
i wudn't put too much hope on the next leopard. some screen shot leaks appeared on the web & u have things like themes & parental control (thats really old school). have a laugh reading opinions here but too bad apple made them pull out the screen shots already. http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/software...rd-terminal-parental-controls-more-231185.php

even the mac fan boys r not impressed.

anyway, i juz bot a laptop & comes with free upgrade to vista. i think the whole vista multiple ver sucks big time!! :thumbsd: imagine features u used to have in XP pro, now can only have them back if u r willing to pay a lot more!! oh well... i guess with such strategy to grab money, will only encourage more people using P* copies. :rolleyes:
 

#11
just found another reason not to upgrade that soon

http://www.tomcoyote.org/tech/vista-upgrade-invalidates-your-xp-key/74/

If you choose to purchase an upgrade version of Windows Vista to upgrade XP, you will no longer be able to use that version of XP. Either on another system, or as a dual-boot option. The key will be invalidated, preventing activation.

From Vista’s EULA ....:

13. UPGRADES. To use upgrade software, you must first be licensed for the software that is eligiblefor the upgrade. Upon upgrade, this agreement takes the place of the agreement for the software you upgraded from. After you upgrade, you may no longer use the software you upgraded from.

 

#14
From Vista’s EULA ....:

13. UPGRADES. To use upgrade software, you must first be licensed for the software that is eligiblefor the upgrade. Upon upgrade, this agreement takes the place of the agreement for the software you upgraded from. After you upgrade, you may no longer use the software you upgraded from.

Micro$oft way of forcing the Vista number up. :eek: :bheart:
 

nightpiper

Senior Member
Oct 20, 2003
2,152
0
0
#15
just found another reason not to upgrade that soon

http://www.tomcoyote.org/tech/vista-upgrade-invalidates-your-xp-key/74/

If you choose to purchase an upgrade version of Windows Vista to upgrade XP, you will no longer be able to use that version of XP. Either on another system, or as a dual-boot option. The key will be invalidated, preventing activation.

From Vista’s EULA ....:

13. UPGRADES. To use upgrade software, you must first be licensed for the software that is eligiblefor the upgrade. Upon upgrade, this agreement takes the place of the agreement for the software you upgraded from. After you upgrade, you may no longer use the software you upgraded from.

apparently there's a workaround. no need to destroy the old XP & yet can do a clean install from the upgrade disc.

troublesome but works. install vista twice. 1st time install it as 30 day trial. after that install it again as the official upgrade. ;)
 

CSlye

New Member
Jan 12, 2006
205
0
0
#17
Nope. New Microsoft OS usually takes at least 2 yrs to stablize :)
 

dEthANGeL

Senior Member
Jun 20, 2004
1,652
0
36
Siglap
#18
Got a couple of machines running on RC of vista.

My view:

NO.

2 years later when the hardware catches up with the OS and with SP1 or SP2 - Likely.
 

quekky

Senior Member
Sep 13, 2003
1,400
0
0
www.irphotography.com
#19
maybe a few months later when more programs support vista, then i'll upgrade. btw I own an eyeone, wonder if xrite will still support it
 

undead

New Member
Oct 22, 2005
50
0
0
#20
In principle, I wouldn't.
The DRM restrictions on the Vista are just awful and restricting DX10 to Vista is just wrong.
The idea that people will be forced to upgrade if they want to play future games is a little ludicrous.

I'll be sticking to XP for awhile yet.
Thinking about getting a Mac for the next system.
Same sentiments. In additional to this, you will need a much more powerful system just to support Vista.:confused:
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom