White Balance Cap


Status
Not open for further replies.

longko

Senior Member
Sep 7, 2006
2,052
1
0
39
Balestier
#1

fengwei

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 25, 2004
14,462
12
0
Queenstown
www.pbase.com
#2
Don't need to buy it I guess, you can use the body cap came w/ your Pentax cam for that same purpose ;)
 

longko

Senior Member
Sep 7, 2006
2,052
1
0
39
Balestier
#3
Should be a little diff in the whiteness. These are expod**c imitation, the whiteness & translucent of the material do make a diff. It's like having a piece of normal white/grey card & commercial ones. Still not sure if it really works, but these are similar to the ones other CSer is selling for $32.;)

For those who had pm me;
1. I'm not making a profit off these, so I will not be responsible in anyway if the product is not as what it said. But if anything happens, I can try to contact the seller via ebay.
2. The price of US$2(Cap) & US$5(remote) do not include shipping, we'll split the total shipping cost. Estimate price;
Cap with shipping = US$5.33(S$8)
Remote = US$8.33($12.50)
3. I will set currency conversion at 1 USD to 1.50 SGD for easy referrence.
4. Let me know the size of the cap you want. 52mm 55mm 58mm 62mm 67mm 72mm 77mm
5. Since these are cheap items, so no deposit is required. But I'll limit the quantity at 15 caps & 3 remotes. like number 18:bsmilie:
6. All buyers will do a meet-up(maybe can set as a Pentaxian outing) to deal. Those who cannot make it will have to pay by bank transfer total sum with local postage(to be advise at later date).

Remember I'm only doing this as a favour for those bro who don't have CC/paypal account:D
 

longko

Senior Member
Sep 7, 2006
2,052
1
0
39
Balestier
#4
Regarding the remote, it states that only *ist DL *ist DS *ist D are compatible. IMHO, it should work on K10D & K100D too as the frequency is the same. But I'm not going to be responsible;)

Shipping from HK normally takes 1-2weeks
 

creampuff

Senior Member
Jul 11, 2006
5,116
1
0
Dover
#5
Bro, get the real expodisc. I know it is pricey but I can vouch the difference when I took pictures using my bro-in-law's Canon 1DMk2 last year. Results using a clone that was passed to me by a friend came out a little yellow. The translucent body cap that fengwei suggested works too.
 

longko

Senior Member
Sep 7, 2006
2,052
1
0
39
Balestier
#6
Bro, get the real expodisc. I know it is pricey but I can vouch the difference when I took pictures using my bro-in-law's Canon 1DMk2 last year. Results using a clone that was passed to me by a friend came out a little yellow. The translucent body cap that fengwei suggested works too.
I tend not to spend much on accessories, not due to price factor. Not like I'm going pro or anything like that. If I want to go pro, I won't have gone into Pentax. Just a hobby, and small things like this give a little pleasure in bargain hunting. Always looking for cheaper source:bsmilie: You get what you spend on. lol
 

fengwei

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 25, 2004
14,462
12
0
Queenstown
www.pbase.com
#7
I tend not to spend much on accessories, not due to price factor. Not like I'm going pro or anything like that. If I want to go pro, I won't have gone into Pentax. Just a hobby, and small things like this give a little pleasure in bargain hunting. Always looking for cheaper source:bsmilie: You get what you spend on. lol
Then nothing is cheaper than the body cap which we already have ;) No difference at all imo, especially comparing w/ the one on eBay. You can use a piece of print paper for the same purpose. Don't worth the trouble and cost (buying that ebay one) imo.

Of course the expodisc suggested by creampuff works better, for a price though :)
 

longko

Senior Member
Sep 7, 2006
2,052
1
0
39
Balestier
#8
Then nothing is cheaper than the body cap which we already have ;) No difference at all imo, especially comparing w/ the one on eBay. You can use a piece of print paper for the same purpose. Don't worth the trouble and cost (buying that ebay one) imo.

Of course the expodisc suggested by creampuff works better, for a price though :)
Wah you all say until like this liao. Don't think others will be interested. Nvm lah I'll order on my own.:bsmilie:
 

istDeS

Senior Member
Dec 7, 2005
4,249
10
0
"River end"
#9
Wah you all say until like this liao. Don't think others will be interested. Nvm lah I'll order on my own.:bsmilie:
trying to help you save some $$??:D The body cap and even the grey insert in your camera bag can help to custom the white balance.

this pic is actually using custom white balance from a pringles cap.

 

longko

Senior Member
Sep 7, 2006
2,052
1
0
39
Balestier
#10
trying to help you save some $$??:D The body cap and even the grey insert in your camera bag can help to custom the white balance.

this pic is actually using custom white balance from a pringles cap.

lol. Ya I understand lah. Just want to buy something small while waiting for Tokina 100mm.:bsmilie: The funny thing is while waiting, the fund for Tokina 100mm just(abt 10mins ago) became more than enough for Sigma bigma. Now dunno which to get 1st:bsmilie:

BTW nice shot!
 

alanswan

New Member
Aug 23, 2005
963
0
0
Seng Kang
#11
Regarding the remote, it states that only *ist DL *ist DS *ist D are compatible. IMHO, it should work on K10D & K100D too as the frequency is the same. But I'm not going to be responsible;)

Shipping from HK normally takes 1-2weeks
I have something similar bought from a seller in this forum for my *ist DL originally.
I just tested it on my K10D and it worked... ;)
The model number on my remote says "JJC RM-E3".
 

Dec 29, 2006
149
0
0
38
#12
How do you actually use one of this cap? I understand that you have to take a picture with the cap on..but how do you adjust it afterwards?
 

drewdam

New Member
Jun 18, 2005
1,495
0
0
#13
trying to help you save some $$??:D The body cap and even the grey insert in your camera bag can help to custom the white balance.

this pic is actually using custom white balance from a pringles cap.

i recall sum pple laughing at this when mention about this method...
 

airconvent

Senior Member
Apr 12, 2005
4,777
0
36
#16
Hi Guys.
Liked the earlier question, so this is some sort of white translucent material you put over your lens to perform manual WB?
Looking at their website, I'm quite interested because I keep on getting those overly warm and orangy images as shown on their website. When I set to Tungsten, the images came out slightly bluish.
I know Feng wei does post processing but I normally take the image right off the camera, so such a function would definitely help.
Kind of frustrated the item only US$2 and we have to pay so many times more for shipping.

Have some questions too :

1. I'm wondering does the tinge of the whiteness play a part? Can we use a cheap white coffee filter to do the job?

2. Do we have to ensure the entire FOV is covered by the whiteness or only the central focussing (+ spot metering ) part will do? 3. For Feng Wei's idea to use a white card inside the lens cap, definitely will not fill the FOV, right?

3. When its completely homogeneous white, I don't think the camera can focus at all. I tried this with a white paper. How do you get the camera to store the manual WB? In my case, I forced it to go to manual mode and fire anyway regardless of whether in focus or not. The results is mixed though..

Do advise, please...thank!
 

istDeS

Senior Member
Dec 7, 2005
4,249
10
0
"River end"
#17
trying to help you save some $$??:D The body cap and even the grey insert in your camera bag can help to custom the white balance.

this pic is actually using custom white balance from a pringles cap.
i recall sum pple laughing at this when mention about this method...
:dunno: was just trying out for fun.:bsmilie: compared, my zerocs white balance filter is easier to use.
 

istDeS

Senior Member
Dec 7, 2005
4,249
10
0
"River end"
#18
Hi Guys.
Liked the earlier question, so this is some sort of white translucent material you put over your lens to perform manual WB?
Yes.

Have some questions too :

1. I'm wondering does the tinge of the whiteness play a part? Can we use a cheap white coffee filter to do the job?
see http://www.digitalimagecafe.com/learn/coffeeFilter/

2. Do we have to ensure the entire FOV is covered by the whiteness or only the central focussing (+ spot metering ) part will do? 3. For Feng Wei's idea to use a white card inside the lens cap, definitely will not fill the FOV, right?
Why not? Tightly put it (white card, paper, cap)to the end of the camera lens.

3. When its completely homogeneous white, I don't think the camera can focus at all. I tried this with a white paper. How do you get the camera to store the manual WB? In my case, I forced it to go to manual mode and fire anyway regardless of whether in focus or not. The results is mixed though..

Do advise, please...thank!
you might want to read the manual.

- set the camera to AV or M mode.
- switch to Manual focus
- adjust apenture to widest, adjust the focus
- press FN button
- go to white balance manual
- press > button
- put white paper in front of lens
- press shutter release
- fine tune if needed
- press ok button to confirm white balance and exit.
 

airconvent

Senior Member
Apr 12, 2005
4,777
0
36
#20
Hi istDes
Just checked out your link. Cool man but one question here.
I thought the main purpose of the manual WB is to capture the actual lighting in the room.
If the cofee filter covers it up, then what we see is the "covered" version and dimmer. How does this not affect the WB setting? :think:
cheers
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom