Which would you compromise?

Which would you sacrific


Results are only viewable after voting.

Status
Not open for further replies.

MooEy

New Member
Feb 21, 2004
170
0
0
I was shooting at evening just now, so ran into this situation. Settings were 28mm@f4, 1/30 shutter speed, iso was 400. viewfinder show 1 stop underexposure.

Now the question come, which would you sacrific?

1)Turn the aperature ring to f/2.8, who cares about softness and light fall off.

2)Change the iso to 800(film/digital), i can't see any noise/grain anyway.

3)Dial the shutter speed to 1/15, shakes are for wimps, i got my super strong arm that can lift 500 kg.

~MooEy~
 

LiOnElLiN

Senior Member
Apr 18, 2004
818
0
16
www.zelesjen.com
yeah... what were you shooting huh? why leave out such important details? must be up to no good... :bsmilie:
 

nickmak

Senior Member
Apr 16, 2004
2,358
0
0
34
London, UK
www.pbase.com
i think during these type of situations i try to see if i can bring a tripod along.. if cannot then i'd set iso to 800 if its for an action shot, aperture down to f2.8 if i have really boh pian, and for number 3, errr.... not many people can do that... hehe...
 

MooEy

New Member
Feb 21, 2004
170
0
0
actually not up to any gd , secretly shooting cute girls. can't use flash nor tripod, must not be noticed.

~MooEy~
 

Virgo

Senior Member
Dec 23, 2003
4,813
0
0
West of Singapore
www.pbase.com
MooEy said:
actually not up to any gd , secretly shooting cute girls. can't use flash nor tripod, must not be noticed.

~MooEy~
In this case, 1 is the best choice in my point of view. Still can get good portraits with this ap setting.
 

leeter

Senior Member
May 1, 2004
1,936
0
36
hmm... leave the photos dark.... its can be edited in PS anyway, get a blur photo, with nice colours, and there goes ur photo. :bsmilie:

AT least that is my thinking lahz...
 

devilicboy

New Member
Mar 7, 2004
145
0
0
Changi
shoot RAW and edit the exposure in photoshop CS!!
 

clive

Senior Member
Oct 9, 2002
2,536
0
0
Visit site
i will switch to aperture priority and shoot at f3.2
 

clive

Senior Member
Oct 9, 2002
2,536
0
0
Visit site
OT:

yo witness dude, i just realised ur avatar look like <dao ming si> :D :bsmilie: :thumbsup:
 

rainman

Senior Member
Apr 4, 2004
1,314
0
36
42
In my own world
usually I will set the fstop to 8-13 to have the DOF as well as the sharpness.

Seems to me all lenses doesn't work well when Wide opened. Even the most high end L series. They usually works best ard 8 and above.

I owned a 50mm 1.8. Even at shooting protrait i tried not to shoot at 1.8 cos I prefered the whole body to be sharp too...i shoot at ard 4.
 

ST1100

Senior Member
Jun 18, 2003
1,784
0
36
Singapore, Bedok
Most likely up the ISO to 640 and shoot at f3.5, 1/30, depends on actual situation and subject, of course. Exposing for shadow detail will require even higher exposure.
 

leeter

Senior Member
May 1, 2004
1,936
0
36
clive said:
OT:

yo witness dude, i just realised ur avatar look like <dao ming si> :D :bsmilie: :thumbsup:
dao ming si that guy acting in 'Ocean of sea' mahz ? hahaha...
 

Astin

Senior Member
Mar 2, 2002
4,736
0
36
Astin Studio
astin.clubsnap.org
I would choose to increase the ISO and keep other settings at optimal. Alternatively, shoot at the same settings as you said, with 1 stop under, but shoot in raw format.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.