Which wireless Router to buy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Canonised

Aug 27, 2003
Seeking from some experts here, which latest wireless router (Brand and model) to buy. I am on Maxonline and 3 Win PCs + 1 Apple Mini(with internal Airport), all in different rooms. :)

Canonised said:
Seeking from some experts here, which latest wireless router (Brand and model) to buy. I am on Maxonline and 3 Win PCs + 1 Apple Mini(with internal Airport), all in different rooms. :)

i'm no expert here but Linksys is a good brand to get. Maybe during the IT fair would have some packages/bundles available..

linksys :thumbsup:

I like netgear's administrative interface better.. used linksys prior to this, no complaints either. Belkin is not bad. If you have a lot of money... Apple Airport Express lah ;)

Go get the Linksys Gateway from Starhub, which is a modem and router combo in a box, so that you have less boxes and less wiring - you have got inuf wiring all over like maggie mee liao.

I am also going to get it, but dunno how reliable or how good it is still as this gear is still relatively new. Now still using a Linksys router for 2 years plus without any problem.

Seems that many ppl recommend linksys....

Ok Canonised, u've got a couple of choices (not in order of merit):
1) Linksys
2) Netgear
3) SMC
4) D-Link
5) Buffalo
6) Belkin

These are the commonly used household routers with Buffalo being the least common. Ppl recommend linksys primarily due to their popularity, many parts and accessories are available for it.

SMC and D-Link probably not as popularly rated even though they are cheap.

The most uncommon brands are Buffalo and Belkin. Belkin is one of the newest player to the WLAN market here. But it comes with a lifetime warranty. Interface wise, I haven't personally tried it. But accessories might be harder to find compared to linksys.