Which mode do you shoot in?


icy55

New Member
Mar 13, 2011
48
0
0
#1
Hi guys,

I just got my dslr about 2 weeks ago. Just being ambitious, I tried to shoot in manual mode, but it's too difficult.

Just wondering, seasoned photographers like you guys, which mode do you guys normally shoot in? Manual, AV or TV etc. Do professionals always shoot in manual mode?

Cheers!
 

Edwin Francis

Senior Member
Mar 24, 2006
883
3
18
www.sgwriter.com
#2
P, for professional mode ! ;)

But seriously, use the most appropriate mode for the situation. I use P or Av mostly, M sometimes (esp with flash/studio work). Tv not so much. It also depends on the system e.g. with Canon bodies flash exposure is different in P and Av.

Making the choice depends on understanding how the mode affects your results. Most enthusiasts don't use the 'creative' modes (Landscape, Portrait etc) cause we want to be more involved in the decision-making process, and we know how to get the results in M, Av, Tv or P.
 

baggiolee

New Member
Dec 7, 2006
1,748
0
0
www.facebook.com
#4
try shooting in Auto and examine the settings set by the camera. then u switch to manual and use the same settings, sooner or later u'll understand how it works and know how to set in manual.
 

FuraCelest

New Member
Apr 2, 2011
104
0
0
Singapore
#5
And just to add on, how about aperture priority? As i too am new in this i really cant get my shutter speeds right. But im able to play around with my aperture and ISO. Any advice?
 

Edwin Francis

Senior Member
Mar 24, 2006
883
3
18
www.sgwriter.com
#6
What do you mean by "cannot get my shutter speeds right"? Too slow leading to motion blur? In M mode?

And just to add on, how about aperture priority? As i too am new in this i really cant get my shutter speeds right. But im able to play around with my aperture and ISO. Any advice?
 

baggiolee

New Member
Dec 7, 2006
1,748
0
0
www.facebook.com
#7
And just to add on, how about aperture priority? As i too am new in this i really cant get my shutter speeds right. But im able to play around with my aperture and ISO. Any advice?
yap it's a good idea if u only want to control the aperture esp for f2.8 or f1.4 lenses, at the same time you can set its min shutter speed.

if u wan to set (min) shutter speed, always set it faster than 1/focal legth of ur lens to minimise getting blurred images.
 

Last edited:

JJLoke

New Member
Aug 2, 2009
177
0
0
#8
Full manual all the way! =)
 

FuraCelest

New Member
Apr 2, 2011
104
0
0
Singapore
#9
baggiolee said:
yap it's a good idea if u only want to control the aperture esp for f2.8 or f1.4 lenses, at the same time you can set its min shutter speed.

if u wan to set (min) shutter speed, always set it faster than 1/focal legth of ur lens to minimise getting blurred images.
Yeah im using a nikon d90. When i switch to aperture priority, my shutter speed is auto calculated. As im still trying to figure out the relation between the iso, apeture and shutter speed. My pics will be underexposed or overexposed if i were to go fully on manual. So im no on semi auto with only the shutter speed on auto.

Edwin Francis said:
What do you mean by "cannot get my shutter speeds right"? Too slow leading to motion blur? In M mode?
Yeah thats correct! Im sorry as im still getting to know the terms.

Sent from my iPhone using ClubSNAP
 

FuraCelest

New Member
Apr 2, 2011
104
0
0
Singapore
#11
Edwin Francis said:
@ FuraCelest:

The meter functions in M mode as well -- if you follow it, you should be able to get the correct exposure just as you would in Av mode.

I recommend you read this sticky at the top of the Newbies section:
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/threads/309544-Photography-Notes-For-Newbies
Oh thanks alot for the link. As im using nikon my native functions are different than the canon. Were you referring to aperture value when u mentioned Av?

Sent from my iPhone using ClubSNAP
 

Mercy77

New Member
Jan 14, 2011
79
0
0
#13
AV mode mostly. Depth of field control most important for me.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,518
32
48
Pasir Ris
#16
I just got my dslr about 2 weeks ago. Just being ambitious, I tried to shoot in manual mode, but it's too difficult.
Just wondering, seasoned photographers like you guys, which mode do you guys normally shoot in? Manual, AV or TV etc. Do professionals always shoot in manual mode?
Doesn't matter whether seasoned or without herbs, professional or still wet: use the mode that you understand and that fits your situation, intention. In addition, do read your manual to understand how these modes work and what the differences are. Not all features / functions are available in all modes or you need to pay extra attention to them. If you don't understand the manual, read the newbies guides here. It helps to keep things simple in the beginning. Cameras are quite smart, they can do a lot of things literally 'out of the box'. Watch and learn.
 

icy55

New Member
Mar 13, 2011
48
0
0
#17
Yes me too! i get blur or really under or over exposed shots. Somehow in manual mode, my pictures never look as if they were taken using dslr camera. the pictures looked as if they can be very well taken using compact cameras which is kinda disappointing.

Yes! I guess there's a lot of of trail and error involved. Maybe I should start of with the AV or P mode first, then slowly move up the ladder to M!
 

kei1309

Senior Member
Apr 12, 2010
7,314
23
38
Earth
www.facebook.com
#19
hmm?

i use the "A" Mode. Auto Mode. therefore i don't have to wrack my brains.

oh and scene modes help too :)
 

Top Bottom