Which editing software to use.

YD KM

Apr 4, 2013
Singapore
Hi masters @ Clubsnap. I'm a new photographer and currently using the canon default software to edit my photos. Like to enquire with you guys which is a better editing software for amateur?

There is no such thing as 'better for amateur'. Use the Canon software, it is free and came with your camera. It can handle a lot of things but keeps the entire process simple.
Other tools costs money (for purchase or rental) and are more complex. Unless you know why you need them, just use what you have. Keep in mind: special effects don't make a picture.

There are too many software out there... You can do a search.
Usually the better ones or should i say..with more functions ones will require you to purchase them (Some offers trial period. For you to try out).

Better? There is no better..Its pretty much down to individual.. Some may find this useful..some may not..Some may find this easier or more user friendly to him/her..some may not.

The more popular ones could be those found on the Adobe website. But yea..its really up to you. If the Canon default software can provide what you need..then that's all you need.
:)

Hi masters @ Clubsnap. I'm a new photographer and currently using the canon default software to edit my photos. Like to enquire with you guys which is a better editing software for amateur?

I'm not sure how you define "better editing software for amateur"?

if you look for free software but can do a lot of things, than try open source software like GIMP

Software like Photoshop, Lightroom, are kind of industry standard, it is not free, and lot of amateurs and professionals are using them.

there are also Aperture, DxO, etc, each have own users and supporters.

so boil down to what you intend to achieve and do you have a budget for that?

Can try the Picasa, it free.
Quite easy to use, with color filters etc. Limited functions but enough for some light touch up, adjust brightness etc.