which camera to buy

Status
Not open for further replies.

yusin79

Jul 23, 2005
hi there i am a newbie and am interested in camera and recently wanted to buy a camera for holiday use and i come across this few models:

1.) nikon 5700
2.) nikon 8800
3.) nikon d70
4.) canon 300D

i am confused whether should i get a dslr or the nikon coolpix. sorry if the range i choose is a bit wide, but can anyone tell me whether which model is good for travelling purpose and which camera can produce very sharp and brilliant colours? which one is more cost effective?will be deeply appreciated.

thanks for viewing

i suppose you could start with coolpix series based frm ur list. once you are sure that ur into photography, then switch to a full D/SLR.

DSLRs are going to be more expensive in the long run, but they are more flexible, generally perform faster than even the top-end fixed-lens cameras, and also offer very good image quality, especially at high ISO settings.

But depending on your demands, it should also be possible to work entirely from the kit lens of the Canon 300D or the Nikon D70, which would defray lens costs for a while.

Also, do not discount the new Canon PowerShot S2 IS, Canon 350D or the cheaper Nikon D50. These are also good cameras.

Read the reviews at www.dcresource.com and www.dpreview.com for more information.

While high-end fixed-lens cameras are good in their own right, do consider putting in a little bit more money for a DSLR, which might satisfy your needs for a longer period of time.

mayb u 1 2 ask urself some Qs b4 buying? like...

. will d rest of ur family memberz b using it?
. will u mind a chunky cam or would u like a compact 1?
. how much r u willing 2 spend? (not 4getting stuff like spare batts, memory cards, tripod, etc)
. wad features r important 2 u? (powerful zoom range, pixel count, image stabilizer, etc)
. is it user friendly or would u b fumbling over its settings on a trip & miss out on getting pics instead??