where to get started out in Singapore?

Status
Not open for further replies.

idconfirm

Mar 16, 2005
Hi (i'm not sure if here's the place to place this.. but just some budding thoughts ;p)

Im new to photography and am very interested in cameras, cinematography and photos.. (something along this line).

But i have no formal education in this area, even though i have a dip in other area, that is. =( The best things i can show is some photos that i've developed using a digi cam point-and-shoot kind.

I wish to start working at some production house/photography house to get some experience but where on earth can I start to have such a job? Every production house seem to need people with at least some experience/education in this area.

if anybody know of any production house who don't mind.. taking in newbies but hardworking and v. v. v. interested applicants, pls let me know!

any advice is greatly appreciated!

thanks

Everyone got to start somewhere somehow. Perhaps what u can do at the meantime is to practice a lot in what u r interested in. Make every effort to join photoshoot outings in the forum. It is one of the ways u can pick up your skills fast by learning from others. And as u practice, post your photos here, in time it will demonstrate what u r capable of. From here, build up your portfolio. If u r really keen in photography, wait no further...let action do the talking. :thumbsup:

My opinion:

Do not bother about going out with people to shoot or whatever as the main thing to start off. You can look for a temp/perm job in the photography field, that is to serve as an assistant where you will see all the real stuff, although hard way, but the fastest way to learn many stuff on the job. Of course you will get paid too (do not work for free, but I guess those that you work for free are not worth your time). But to warn you first, it is not easy and patient, alertness and willingness to sacrifice your time is some things you will need.