what you guys usually do during developing ?

overcrash

Jan 30, 2002
Hougang
www.samuelgoh.net
Hi guys,

I been doing quite alot of flim/slide developing lately.
A question pops up and i cant help but starts pondering.

1) Developing with all the prints print out ?
2) Developing with index print only ?
3) Developing and scanning to CD only ?
4) All of the above ?

I am still deciding what to be my routine of developing.

I usually do all of the above.
For me , I feel that only with all the prints printed out, then can you really see which pic is nicer, which got flaw, etc. Then consider to enlarge them. And if I wanna post on cs or my blog, i got digitise it, thus the scanning portion.

What you guys usually do ?

Depends on the type of film i developing..

if 135 slides - develop + mount (not often) + scan at home
if negs - develop + scan at home
if bnw - develop at home + scan at home
if 120 slides - develop at shop + scan at shop

I seldom print out everything, very ex leh

icarus said:
Depends on the type of film i developing..

if 135 slides - develop + mount (not often) + scan at home
if negs - develop + scan at home
if bnw - develop at home + scan at home
if 120 slides - develop at shop + scan at shop

I seldom print out everything, very ex leh

but without printing out everything, can you really tell which pic is good ?
cos i tried b4, seeing a printed copy and wats on the monitor can be so different.
anyway wat scanner u using ? maybe getting my own scanner will be a much more cost-efficient avenue.

overcrash said:
but without printing out everything, can you really tell which pic is good ?
cos i tried b4, seeing a printed copy and wats on the monitor can be so different.
anyway wat scanner u using ? maybe getting my own scanner will be a much more cost-efficient avenue.

i am using the minolta scan dual III.. slow scanner... zzz
:sweatsm:

For slides, i will look through with loupe before scanning lor...
:devil:

I develop very few prints.
When I do, I usually find that chatting up a beautiful girl within a radius of 15 meters is quite productive .... hahaha

Actually she is not often more than 15 meters from me anyway...this is not a big unit/condo

Cheers :)

icarus said:
i am using the minolta scan dual III.. slow scanner... zzz
:sweatsm:
:devil:

how much u got the dual scan III for ?
i quite interested to get a scanner wor , considering the fact that i scanned every roll that i take.

Pablo said:
When I do, I usually find that chatting up a beautiful girl within a radius of 15 meters is quite productive .... hahaha

Actually she is not often more than 15 meters from me anyway...this is not a big unit/condo

Cheers :)

sorry a bit chim, i dun get wat u mean :think:

overcrash said:
how much u got the dual scan III for ?
i quite interested to get a scanner wor , considering the fact that i scanned every roll that i take.

i bought it used from a bro in CS... 300+
too bad cannot scan 120 format film.. sigh
:think:

icarus said:
i bought it used from a bro in CS... 300+
too bad cannot scan 120 format film.. sigh
:think:

300+ is a good price wor.
aiyah, most scanners also cant scan 120 ma. =X

overcrash said:
300+ is a good price wor.
aiyah, most scanners also cant scan 120 ma. =X

Sigh... if only i strike toto.. straight away i will buy this :

ls9000_big.jpg

Super Coolscan ED 9000:heart: :heart: :heart:

overcrash said:
if u strike toto u wont only buy this lo :bsmilie:

yea... i will get an Nikon F6 and a nice Hasselblad H1 to go along with that scanner :)
:lovegrin: :lovegrin: :embrass:

hahaha.
i know u wont get that only!
if u tio toto, u can get drum scanner lo, still will buy that meh ?

anyway seems like only u and me in this thread, anyone else care to share.
can see pple voting, but no one posting :think:

Hi there, I am a film user too. There is something film can capture that digital cameras ain't able to. I can't really put my finger to it. Oh yea, my usual practice is to get the shop to scan for me when i develop the film... Now i am looking for a small scanner to buy, to save some $$$ in the long run.

J

D2H said:
Hi there, I am a film user too. There is something film can capture that digital cameras ain't able to. I can't really put my finger to it. Oh yea, my usual practice is to get the shop to scan for me when i develop the film... Now i am looking for a small scanner to buy, to save some $$$ in the long run.

J

Try Nikon Coolscan series or Konica Minolta Scan series. KM series is best value for money! :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

icarus said:
Try Nikon Coolscan series or Konica Minolta Scan series. KM series is best value for money! :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

i aiming for a KM one too actually.
but 2nd hand one la.
new one i still feel it cost a bomb.
anyway icarus, wats the cheapest first hand KM scanner price ?

i just bought a film camera... hehehe... haven even bought my 1st Film yet... but i am thinking of getting a film scanner... which 1 is nice? or which shop have good scanning?

B&W negative films: develop and contact print.
Color negative films: develop and 4"x6" prints or develop and contact print.
Slide films: develop only.

Hi guys,

I been doing quite alot of flim/slide developing lately.
A question pops up and i cant help but starts pondering.

1) Developing with all the prints print out ?
2) Developing with index print only ?
3) Developing and scanning to CD only ?
4) All of the above ?

I am still deciding what to be my routine of developing.

I usually do all of the above.
For me , I feel that only with all the prints printed out, then can you really see which pic is nicer, which got flaw, etc. Then consider to enlarge them. And if I wanna post on cs or my blog, i got digitise it, thus the scanning portion.

What you guys usually do ?

I shoot a lot of digital lately, so I don't have to deal with film anymore.. No more thinking whether to print them or just scan them. If I were to just scan them, might as well just shoot it straight on digital.

I used to just print them on 4R and make scans from the 4R print if I need to show anything digital. ;p But those were the days when computers were slow and scanners are expensive and not all labs do film scans. ;p

Don't shoot film nowadays. When I was younger:

Slides - Develop only.
B&W - contact print, then print those I like larger
Color Negs - print 4R, and conveniently forget about them :p