What (Nikon/3rd party) lens should I get for plane spotting?

yapple

Aug 23, 2009
Hi all,

Think I should be considered as a newbie, since I'm still confused over some simple stuff, even though I've been using a really old and not really good Olympus DSLR for a few years now.

I'm planning to get a Nikon D7000 soon...was wondering which telephoto zoom lens should i get for my plane-spotting purposes? (searched around for some threads related to this, but can't really find what i want) (budget for kit 2 + lens should not cost more 3.5k?- I'm still a student, can't afford something that is too expensive) I'm also into travel photography (that's why I wanted the kit II), but don't think that's important.

1) 55-300 f/4.5-5.6G ED VR AF-S DX
2) 70-300 f/4.5-5.6G ED IF AF-S VR
or should i get the
3) Tamron 70-300 f/4.0-5.6 SP Di VC USD XLD (nikon mount), which people commented that it may even be better than the Nikkor lenses? (And is this sold in Singapore? I've asked around a few shops a while ago, they told me no)

Which lens would be the most affordable and specific to my needs (fast focus, VR, and other stuff) and yet produce decent images at the ~250-300m mark?

Cheers, been troubled over this issue for quite a while, and wasn't too sure how should I ask about this on this forum, as I'm still quite confused with some terms)

Last edited:
Have you read the reviews? It's a really simple thing to do as a first step...

Have you read the reviews? It's a really simple thing to do as a first step...

Of course I have :rolleyes:(most of the reviews are generally centered around wildlife/bird photography-not too sure whether plane-spotting will fall into the same category as them)...I've actually spent a few weeks/months researching on Canon and Nikon bodies and lenses suitable for my needs before narrowing down to Nikon and these 3 lenses and posting this question here. (Maybe the way i phrase my question makes it seem like I'm lazy to read reviews myself?)